"title": "Marx hooks three 2017 SA Rugby Awards ",
    "image": "https:\/\/images.supersport.com\/2018\/2\/Marx300.jpg",
    "body": "<p>\r\nSpringbok hooker Malcolm Marx was rewarded with three awards following a sublime season in 2017, including being named the SA Rugby Player of the Year.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nThe 23-year-old star from the Emirates Lions was also named the SA Rugby Young Player (U23) and Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year for 2017. <\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nMarx, who retained the Young Player of the Year award he won in 2016, is the first player since Ashwin Willemse in 2003 to win the prestigious SA Rugby Player and Young Player of the Year Awards in the same season. <\/p>\r\n<p>\r\n\u201cThis is a magnificent achievement for Malcolm and on behalf of the entire South African rugby fraternity, I would like to congratulate him on a superb season,\u201d said SA Rugby President, Mr Mark Alexander.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\n\u201cMalcolm was a rock for both the Springboks and the Emirates Lions and at only 23 I\u2019m sure he will still go on to accomplish big things in our game.\u201d<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nThe Springbok Sevens team and their coach, Neil Powell, were also rewarded for a sterling season in which they won the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series by winning the awards for Team and Coach of the Year. The fleet-footed Rosko Specman was named Springbok Sevens Player of the Year.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\n\u201cNeil and his band of Blitzbok brothers made us all very proud last year and these awards are very well deserved,\u201d said Mr Alexander.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nJuarno Augustus, who was named the World Rugby U20 Championship Player of the Tournament last June, won the award for Junior Springbok Player of the Year.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nRecently-capped Springbok Warrick Gelant, who also represented the Blitzboks and Junior Springboks earlier in his career, was the Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year, and the Down Touch Griffons\u2019 Jaun Kotze won the accolade for the First Division.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nCraig Barry from DHL Western Province, who is currently playing for the Toyota Cheetahs in the Guinness PRO14, was named Supersport Challenge Player of the Year, and Babalwa Latsha, also from WP, won the Women\u2019s Achiever of the Year award.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\nJaco Peyper, who refereed the first test between the All Blacks and the British & Irish Lions, as well as the Vodacom Super Rugby and the Currie Cup Premier Division finals, was named the Outsurance Referee of the Year.<\/p>\r\n<p>\r\n\u201cWell done to all the winners on their achievements in 2017. Judging by these performances, and the fact that we\u2019re busy turning the corner, I can\u2019t wait for this year\u2019s action,\u201d said Mr Alexander. <\/p>\r\n<p>\r\n<strong>All the winners are:<\/strong><\/p><p>\r\n<strong>SA Rugby Player of the Year:<\/strong> Malcolm Marx<br>\r\nOther nominees: Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Jan Serfontein <\/p>\r\n<p><strong> \r\nSA Rugby Young Player of the Year: <\/strong>Malcolm Marx<br>\r\nOther nominees: Curwin Bosch, Jean-Luc du Preez, Warrick Gelant, Damian Willemse<\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nTeam of the Year:<\/strong> Springbok Sevens <br>\r\nOther nominees: Emirates Lions, DHL Western Province<\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nCoach of the Year:<\/strong> Neil Powell <br>\r\nOther nominees: Johan Ackermann, John Dobson<\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nSpringbok Sevens Player of the Year:<\/strong> Rosko Specman<br>\r\nOther nominees: Chris Dry, Werner Kok<\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nJunior Springbok Player of the Year:<\/strong> Juarno Augustus<br>\r\nOther nominees: Curwin Bosch, Damian Willemse<\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nVodacom Super Rugby Player of the Tournament:<\/strong> Malcolm Marx (Emirates Lions)<br>\r\nOther nominees: Jaco Kriel, Franco Mostert (both Emirates Lions) <\/p>\r\n<p>\r\n<strong>\r\n \r\nCurrie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: <\/strong>Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)<br>\r\nOther nominees: Nizaam Carr, Robert du Preez (both DHL Western Province) <\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nCurrie Cup First Division Player of the Year:<\/strong> Jaun Kotze (Down Touch Griffons)<br>\r\nOther nominees: Tertius Maarman (Down Touch Griffons), Jeandr\u00e9 Rudolph (Leopards) <\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nSuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year:<\/strong> Craig Barry (DHL Western Province)<br>\r\nOther nominees: Enver Brandt (Tafel Lager Griquas), Shaun Reynolds (Xerox Golden Lions XV) <\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nCoca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament<\/strong>:\r\nSanele Nohamba (KwaZulu-Natal) <\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nOutsurance Referee of the Year <\/strong>:\r\nJaco Peyper<\/p>\r\n<p><strong>\r\n \r\nWomen\u2019s Achiever of the Year<\/strong>:\r\nBabalwa Latsha (Western Province)",
    "blurb": "Springbok hooker Malcolm Marx was rewarded with three awards following a sublime season in 2017, including being named the SA Rugby Player of the Year.",
    "date": "2018-02-09T12:32:43",
    "author": "",
    "credit": "",
    "img_credit": "Malcolm Marx  &copy; Gallo Images",
    "category": "SA Rugby",
    "videos": []