Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | India tour of South Africa 2017/18

JP Duminy © Gallo Images

Touch of Klaasen as SA beat India

Twin half-centuries from captain JP Duminy and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen carried South Africa to a six-wicket victory over India in Wednesday's key second Twenty20 international at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

Full Scorecard: South Africa v India
Interactive coverage

The South Africans surpassed a tough 189-run target with eight deliveries to spare, beating the opposition and the rain that had threatened the entire innings.

Relatively early departures for openers Reeza Hendricks and Jon-Jon Smuts didn't perturb Duminy and Klaasen, who shared a convincing 93-run stand inside nine overs.

"Klaasie got us ahead of the game," said Duminy.

"We weren't sure whether we would be coming off. In the end it worked in our favour."

The left-handed Duminy struck a commanding 64 not out from 40 deliveries to the right-handed Klaasen's 69 from 30. They shared an entertaining 10 sixes to thrill an appreciative, sell-out crowd.

The visiting bowlers struggled in damp conditions, misfielding consistently.

The 16th over of the pursuit was particularly poor for the Indians, as wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni missed a relatively straightforward stumping opportunity and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal dropped a sharp return-catch offer.


"It was a tough one for the bowlers," said India captain Virat Kohli, who said he had no complaints about the umpires keeping the players on the field.

"It was good from a spectator point of view. Once the game continued in the first innings we knew it would continue throughout. It was constant drizzle, it wasn't too drastic, so it was fine to play on."


This video is not available in your region

Earlier, a career-best 79 not out from just 48 deliveries from batsman Manish Pandey spearheaded India to a formidable total of 188 for four.

Pandey batted superbly, surpassing the unbeaten 51 struck against Sri Lanka in Colombo - and enjoyed solid support from Dhoni.

The duo shared a brisk, unbroken 98-run alliance in 9.2 overs for the fifth wicket - and punished an ill-disciplined close to the innings from the Proteas.

Allrounder Chris Morris was particularly poor, while wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi and Dane Paterson were also proved expensive.

Morris started well, delivering a maiden to opener Shikhar Dhawan with some threatening lines. His length, then, took a beating en route to costly closing figures of 0-42 in four overs.

Fast bowler Junior Dala followed up an impressive debut in the series opener at the Wanderers in Johannesburg with another sound showing.

His pivotal haul of 2-28, including the key dismissals of the dangerous Rohit Sharma and Kohli, entirely justified the decision to give him the new ball ahead of fellow right-armer Paterson.


Dala, though, dropped a catch late in the piece - and allowed Dhoni to move to a fine half-century that otherwise would have been stifled in the mid-30s.

The former skipper's half-ton arrived off a mere 27 balls - and marked just the second of his prolific T20I career.

The South Africans, in fact, conceded a whopping 103 runs for the loss of just one wicket in the final 10 overs.

"I thought it was a winning total but you can't control what happens with the weather," said Kohli.

"You have to give credit to the South African batsmen. They were positive and took calculated risks."

Duminy had won the toss and elected to bowl first - and named an unchanged XI - under heavy clouds.

The three-match affair is locked at a win apiece - and Newlands in Cape Town will host the third and final T20I on Saturday.

India's women, meanwhile, secured an unassailable two-one series lead over their South African counterparts on Wednesday, when the penultimate T20I at SuperSport Park was washed out.

SOUTH AFRICA: JJ Smuts, Reeza Hendricks, Jean-Paul Duminy (capt), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi

INDIA: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli (capt), Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming