Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | IPL

Umesh Yadav © SuperSport.com

Kolkata advance after rain delay

The Kolkata Knight Riders advanced to the second Qualifier of the Indian Premier League, after they beat the Sunrisers Hyderabad by seven wickets on the Duckworth-Lewis method at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday.

Full scorecard: Hyderabad v Kolkata

In a rain-shortened encounter, it was the two-time champions, Kolkata, who knocked out the defending champions, the Sunrisers, in the Eliminator match of the IPL.

The Knight Riders will next face the Mumbai Indians in the second Qualifier at the selfsame venue on Friday.

The winner of the Qualifier will take on the Rising Pune Supergiant in the grand Final on Sunday.

Having won the toss and elected to field first, Kolkata can feel that their decision was well vindicated as they managed to keep a powerful Sunrisers line-up very quiet on what is traditionally a good batting strip.

None of the Sunrisers batsmen managed to make a meaningful contribution as the Knight Riders kept the scoring rate to a minimum throughout, thus forcing wickets to fall regularly.

Several of the Hyderabad batsmen got starts, but only Warner (37) succeeded to pass 30. Kane Williamson (24) and Vijay Shankar (22) both compiled decent cameos, but failed to fire up the scoring rate.

In fact, the Sunrisers managed just nine fours and five sixes in their innings as they were constantly strangled around the run-a-ball mark.

Nathan Coulter-Nile (3-20), Umesh Yadav (2-21), Piyush Chawla (1-27) and Trent Boult (1-30) got among the wickets, while Sunil Narine bowled a miserly 0-20 in his four overs.

This video is not available in your region

The Sunrisers could only muster 128 for seven in their 20 overs - a paltry total at best.

The heavens then opened up and the wind gusted as the match suffered a three hour delay. No play would have resulted in the Sunrisers advancing on a superior log positions, however superb work from the ground staff once the rains had stopped allowed for a six over game to be played.

Kolkata's reduced target was 48, giving them 36 balls to achieve the rain-reduced target.

Proceedings did not get off to a great start in spite of a Chris Lynn six off the second ball, as the dangerous Australian was controversially given out caught behind off the third ball of the innings.


Chasing a Bhuvneshwar Kumar yorker, Lynn was adjudged to have got an edge on the ball to the keeper, although it appeared to have been a case of the bat hitting the ground.

Bhuvneshwar then ran Yusuf Pathan out the very next ball for a golden duck as the batsman jammed out another yorker and wandered out of his crease, only for the bowler to knock the stumps down before he could remake his ground.

Seven for two turned to 12-3 the next over when Robin Uthappa holed out to Dhawan on the square leg fence off Chris Jordan's bowling.

However, calm was restored by the Knight Riders' evergreen skipper, Gautam Gambhir, who steered his team home with an unbeaten 32 off 19 balls.

His innings was kick-started by a fortuitous maximum which came from a top edged pull over the wicketkeeper's head off Jordan's bowling.

From there on in it was a stereotypical Gambhir knock, with a pair of boundaries and sixes flowing from his blade in total.

Making his debut in the 2017 season, Ishank Jaggi, managed five not out at the other end as he and his captain took Kolkata home with four balls to spare.

A seven-wicket win the result for Kolkata; Gambhir and his bowlers emerged the heroes as the Knight Riders ensured they will get a shot at making the final.

SUNRISERS HYDERABAD: David Warner (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh, Vijay Shankar, Naman Ojha (wk), Chris Jordan, Bipul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul

KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Gautam Gambhir (capt), Robin Uthappa (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishank Jaggi, Piyush Chawla, Umesh Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming