Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | IPL

Virender Sehwag © Gallo Images

Daredevils romp to victory

The Delhi Daredevils romped to a comprehensive seven-wicket win against the Mumbai Indians in their IPL clash at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Monday.

Full Scorecard

The Daredevils won the toss and elected to bowl.

The Mumbai Indians suffered a batting collapse as they slipped to 44 for six in the first 11 overs.

They hardly recovered, although Harbhajan Singh’s cameo of 33 off 22 balls (five fours and a six) helped them to regain some form of respectability before they were dismissed for 92.

Although the Delhi-attack was in fine form, Mumbai were in self-destruct mode and displayed a lack of batting awareness in the face of some hostile bowling by Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav.

The Delhi Daredevils reached 93 for three in 14.5 overs in pursuit of the target, thanks to a sedate 32 by Virender Sehwag and a measured undefeated 17 off 20 balls by Mahela Jayawardene.

Ross Taylor, with an undefeated eleven, was with Jayawardene when the winning runs were scored.

RP Singh, selected in the place of the injured Lasith Malinga, captured 2-24, while the spinner Pragyan Ojha took 1-19 in his four overs.

The Daredevils started watchfully in pursuit of 93.

Naman Ojha attempted a pull shot off RP Singh in the sixth over and was caught by Harbhajan Singh at midwicket for 13 , leaving Delhi on 34 for one in the fifth over.

Kevin Pietersen came to the crease and started with a pull shot and a flashy square-drive for four.

But he departed in Singh’s final over when he attempted a pull shot and was deceived by the extra bounce, pulling it straight to Davy Jacobs at midwicket. He scored nine.

Sehwag, normally a swashbuckling batsman, played a conservative role, but should have departed in the ninth over when he drove the ball straight to Richard Levi at third man off RP Singh.

Levi dropped a fairly easy catch with Sehwag’s score on 16.

Sehwag rotated the strike in tandem with Jayawardene, and was kept in check by the accuracy and clever variations of Ojha.

Ojha finally got his men when he lured Sehwag into an expansive drive and Levi caught him at long-on.

Sehwag’s 32 came off 36 balls, and included two fours and a six, as they slipped to 74 for three.

Jayawardene used his finesse and excellent timing to take Delhi home.


Mumbai was in disarray early on in their innings when a double-strike by the spinner Shahbaz Nadeem had them reeling on three for two.

He bowled Jacobs for a duck with a clever faster, arm-ball as Jacobs attempted a flick across the line.

Two deliveries later, Levi attempted a similar shot, with similar, disastrous results. He was gone for one, and Nadeem had taken his second wicket.

Ambati Rayudu was run out for four after a mix-up with Rohit Sharma.

Sharma benefited from such top-edges which landed between fielders and went for boundaries.

His batting partner Kieron Pollard tried a rash, expansive shot outside the off-stump off Umesh Yadav and was caught at point on the boundary for one as Mumbai slipped to 38 for four.

In the next over, Sharma top-edged a ball by Ajit Agarkar off his hips to Taylor on the square-leg boundary and departed for 29.

He hit five boundaries in his 27-ball stay.

Yadav continued the rout in his next over when Dinesh Karthik attempted an ambitious pull off the fast bowler and meekly pushed it to Pietersen at mid-on and was gone for three.

Mumbai were in dire straits on 44 for six after 11 overs.

Nadeem and Yadav bowled superbly, but benefited from some ill-disciplined and reckless stroke play by Mumbai on a pitch with some steep bounce.

Singh’s counter-offensive helped Mumbai to recover somewhat to 78 for six as he added 34 runs in 4.3 overs with Clint McKay for the seventh wicket.

McKay departed in the 14th over when he was bamboozled by a slower delivery from Irfan Pathan and caught on the boundary for eight, leaving Mumbai tottering on 78 for seven.

Morkel ripped through the batting tail by bowling RP Singh for a duck and removing Harbhajan in his final over when he attempted an adventurous cut outside the off-stump.

Nadeem was the pick of the attack with his 2-16 in four overs.

Yadav captured 2-10 in four overs, while Morkel was almost equally destructive in grabbing 2-22 in his allotted four.

MUMBAI INDIANS: Harbhajan Singh (capt), Davy Jacobs, Richard Levi, AT Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Clint McKay, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Munaf Patel, Lasith Malinga, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh.

DELHI DAREDEVILS: Naman Ojha (wk), Virender Sehwag (capt), Yogesh Nagar, Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Irfan Pathan, Shabhaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav, Morné Morkel, Ajit Agarkar.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming