Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Xtra | Xtra

Austin Smith © Stanislas Brochier

SA hockey men secure London ticket

The South Africa men’s hockey team beat host nation Japan 2-1 after the scores were locked 0-0 at halftime in the Olympic Qualifier Tournament’s sell-out final at Gifu Green Stadium on Sunday.

The prize was the last ticket still on offer for the London 2012 Olympic Games men’s hockey event, and a stunning field goal from Thornton McDade plus a coolly taken effort by Lloyd Norris-Jones proved the difference in an emotion-charged title match, Kenji Kitazato netting for Japan.

After patient build-up Marvin Harper got in the first shot of the final in the third minute but Japan goalkeeper Shunsuke Nagoya saved well. At the other end Rassie Pieterse timed his advance perfectly to block Hiroki Sakamoto’s shot.

Umpires David Gentles (Australia) and Jed Curran (Scotland) are experienced in these high-pressure matches and the teams were in good hands, but in the 11th minute Japan were awarded a penalty corner (PC) that South Africa disputed. The decision stood as South Africa did not opt to use the one video referral allowed -- and Pieterse saved to his right from Katsuyoshi Nagasawa.

Midway, Lloyd Madsen’s long ball down the right found Julian Hykes whose strong cross let Wade Paton in for a snap shot that went just wide. Towards halftime Japan pressed hard but the threat was negated and Tim Drummond forced a top quality low save to goalkeeper Nagaoka’s right once the momentum shifted.

Then the sheer pace of Norris-Jones earned South Africa’s first PC with exactly five minutes to the break and a variation to the third castle saw Andrew Cronje win another. South Africa went back to the more regular double castle and Justin Reid-Ross’s drag-flick was gloved away by the keeper.


Soon after the changeover South Africa had two excellent opportunities to turn possession into goal shots but the final passes went astray and a breakout from deep saw Japan striker Kenta Tanaka come agonisingly close to opening the scoring. A four-man move some time later was again a tense moment but the outstanding Pieterse was on hand to block. Seconds later striker McDade, at 31 the “old man” of the side, found space on the right and opened the scoring after a dazzling piece of stickwork in close confines that wrong-footed the keeper (1-0).

With 20 minutes left South Africa had a stunning chance to go two goals clear but somehow Japan emerged intact from the goalmouth scramble and at the other end Japan won their second PC when Gentles ruled South Africa had infringed in the 23m area. Then South Africa lost another defender when Jonty Robinson, the first wave, was adjudged to have broken too early but the danger turned into opportunity and a few plays later Norris-Jones made it 2-0 with a clinical finish.

With 16 minutes to the final whistle Japan were still in it, as their lightning-quick forwards are capable of scoring two or three goals in no time, but the South African tackling continued in impeccable vein, and Ian Haley’s chance to make it three was then thwarted by the in-form Nagaoka. Gentles awarded Japan a PC but SA captain Austin Smith opted to use his team’s one video referral and the choice was wise.

However, Japan got their third PC a few plays later, then a fourth, and a fifth. South Africa survived and Pieterse then made a great save from field play but Japan’s Kenji Kitazato pulled one back eventually with six minutes left on the clock (2-1). With three left McDade broke free and fed Norris-Jones, whose shot was saved by the advancing Nagaoka.

With 98 seconds left Japan subbed their keeper with a field player and Pieterse made a brilliant save shortly after. It was agony for the few South African supporters at the ground as the seconds crawled by, but finally it was over and SA had booked the last ticket to London.

Goalkeeper: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng).
Defenders: Andrew Cronje (Western Province), Justin Reid-Ross (Northern Blues), Lloyd Madsen (KZN Coastal Raiders), Rhett Halkett (NB), Lance Louw (SG).
Midfielders: Jonty Robinson (NB), Austin Smith (capt, WP), Tim Drummond (KCR), Wade Paton (KCR), Taine Paton (KCR).
Strikers: Ian Haley (WP), Marvin Harper (KCR), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP), Julian Hykes (Amathole-Border), Thornton McDade (SG).
Rested: Michael Smith (Witwatersrand), Clinton Panther (SG).


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Marsha Cox
The end of the pool stage
An 8-2 win over Wales in our final pool game secures our spot in the tournament final. Playing...