Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Rugby | Vodacom Super Rugby

Craig Barry © Gallo Images

Barry to make first Stormers start

Craig Barry has completed a two-week transformation from being a Cheetahs player to a DHL Stormer by earning a place as the starting fullback for Saturday’s important Vodacom Super Rugby clash with the Reds at Newlands.

Barry was released on loan to play for the Cheetahs in the GuinnessPRO14 at the end of last year and the understanding with the Bloemfontein union from the start of Super Rugby was that Barry, who is on loan to them, will return to the Stormers if needed during Super Rugby.

That has now become a necessity due to injury, with Barry having to replace Dillyn Leyds in the No 15 jersey on Saturday.

Leyds has a calf injury.

Barry was one of the star players in the Western Province team that won the SuperSport Challenge last year but he had limited exposure at Currie Cup level before being released to gain experience as a loan player at the Cheetahs.

In all there are three changes to the Stormers team that beat the Blues 37-20 at Newlands last week, with coach Robbie Fleck deciding to opt against continuing with Pieter-Steph du Toit on the flank.

Instead Cobus Wiese will return to the side on the side of the scrum, with Chris van Zyl dropping to the bench so that Du Toit can join Jan de Klerk in the second row.

In the other change, JC Janse van Rensburg comes back at loosehead prop for Steven Kitshoff in a rotational switch. The Springbok will play off the bench and the Stormers will welcome his energy when he comes onto the field.

Fleck has opted again to go with six forwards on the bench – three front-row, one second row and two loose-forwards.

Justin Phillips and George Whitehead provide the halfback cover.

DHL Stormers team: Craig Barry, JJ Engelbrecht, EW Viljoen, Damian de Allende, Raymond Rhule, Damian Willemse, Dewaldt Duvenage, Nizaam Carr, Cobus Wiese, Siya Kolisi (captain), Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jan de Klerk, Wilco Louw, Ramone Samuels, JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: Dean Muir, Steven Kitshoff, Carlu Sadie, Chris van Zyl, Kobus van Dyk, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Justin Phillips, George Whitehead.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming