Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Superbikes

Jonathan Rea © Gallo Images

Champion Rea wins Race 1 in Qatar

Newly-crowned World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea's domination continued with a Race 1 victory at the final stop of the season in Qatar on Friday.

The Northern Irishman started from pole and led the race from the green lights to the checkered flag.

The victory was also the first for Kawasaki under the floodlights in Qatar.

If Rea wins race 2 on Saturday, he will surpass Colin Edwards’ most points record of 352 set in 2002.

Second place, nearly five seconds back, went to Aruba.it Racing Ducati's Chaz Davies, who put himself in an excellent position to secure runner-up spot behind Rea in the Championship.

Davies and Tom Sykes entered the weekend in Qatar level on points, but the latter had to be content with sixth place on Friday.

His position would have been even worse had several riders ahead of him not fallen out of contention.

This video is not available in your region

Michael van der Mark's race came to an end on lap seven after appearing to clip his front wheel into Sykes’ rear wheel.

His teammate Alex Lowes crashed at turn 16 on lap 10 after getting into a battle with Davies, and then crashed again two laps later, having managed to rejoin the action.

Xavi Fores was in line for a podium until his Barni Ducati was forced to pull out with a mechanical issue on lap 10.

Those failures allowed Davies' teammate Marco Melandri to snatch third place and another podium on his return to the World Superbike championship.

Milwaukee Aprilia also fared well, taking fourth and fifth place respectively through Eugene Laverty - his best result of the year - and Lorenzo Savadori.

Sykes followed in sixth, just ahead of Jordi Torres on the Althea BMW.

Sylvain Guintoli was eighth on the Puccetti Kawasaki, while MV Agusta’s Leon Camier and Roman Ramos of Team Go Eleven Kawasaki rounded out the top 10.


1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 17 laps
2. Chaz Davies GBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati Panigale R 4.944s
3. Marco Melandri ITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati Panigale R 10.405s
4. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 12.052s
5. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 12.339s
6. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 15.587s
7. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 16.789s
8. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR 17.869s
9. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 18.494s
10. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR 22.660s
11. Jeremy Guarnoni FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR 36.011s
12. Jake Gagne USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 38.237s
13. Roberto Rolfo ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR 49.659s
14. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR 50.079s
Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1
Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R
Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR
Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1
Davide Giugliano ITA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2
Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming