Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Formula 1

Hamilton takes pole in Japan

Lewis Hamilton struck a huge psychological blow in the Formula One title race Saturday with a sizzling qualifying drive to take pole position for the Japanese Grand Prix.

The Briton, who leads Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel by 34 points with five races left, steered his Mercedes to a track record of one minute, 27.319 seconds with Valtteri Bottas second fastest.

Vettel will join Hamilton on the front row after Bottas incurred a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change to his Mercedes on Friday.

"The car is crazy here," said the triple world champion after his 71st career pole, and first at Suzuka.

"This track has always been one of the greatest and with this car it's just mind-blowing," added Hamilton, looking to hit back after being stunned by Red Bull's Max Verstappen in Malaysia last weekend.

"With the downforce we now have it's three seconds faster than before and it's just insane speeds that this car is throwing us around inside.

"It's incredible, my first pole position here – 10th time lucky or whatever it is."

A three-time winner of the Japanese Grand Prix, Hamilton fired a clear warning to Vettel, who realistically needs to win this weekend to revive his fading title hopes.

The German, who finished fourth in Malaysia after starting from last, set the tempo in Friday's rain-hit practice but was well off the pace in qualifying.

"I tried everything on that last lap as I knew I had to take a bit more risks," said Vettel.

"I knew that we'd be on front row because of Valtteri's penalty so I'm pretty happy."

Daniel Ricciardo was fourth fastest, followed by Verstappen – putting the two Red Bulls on the second row.

The Force India pair of Esteban Ocon and Sergio Perez start on row three with Bottas and the Williams of Felipe Massa behind them.

Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen qualified sixth quickest, has also been demoted five places after switching his gearbox following a shunt in Saturday's practice.

There were more hair-raising moments in qualifying as Bottas, who crashed in the morning's free practice, almost lost control early on.

Romain Grosjean was less fortunate and smashed into a wall moments later, mangling his Haas machine.

"Massive oversteer – I don't know what happened," snapped Grosjean over team radio.

Former world champion Fernando Alonso outqualified McLaren teammate Stoffel Vandoorne but it mattered little as the Spaniard will start the race from last after changing his engine overnight.

As a result, Vandoorne will be promoted from 11th to 10th on the starting grid.

This video is not available in your region


1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:27.319
2. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes 1:27.651
3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 1:27.791
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - TAG Heuer 1:28.306
5. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull - TAG Heuer 1:28.332
6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:28.498
7. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India - Mercedes 1:29.111
8. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes 1:29.260
9. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1:29.480
10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1:30.687
- - - - - - - - - -
11. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1:29.778
12. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault 1:29.879
13. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas - Ferrari 1:29.972
14. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1:30.022
15. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso - Renault 1:30.413
- - - - - - - - - -
16. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas - Ferrari 1:30.849
17. Pierre Gasly (France) Toro Rosso - Renault 1:31.317
18. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes 1:31.409
19. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - Ferrari 1:31.597
20. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1:31.885
- - - - - - - - - -
1-10: third and final qualifying session
11-15: second qualifying session
16-20: first qualifying session


1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:27.319
2. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:27.791
3. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer 1:28.306
4. Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer 1:28.332
5. Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 1:29.111
6. Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:27.651
7. Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1:29.260
8. Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 1:29.480
9. Stoffel Vandoorne Mclaren Honda 1:29.778
10. Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:28.498
11. Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:29.879
12. Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1:29.972
13. Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1:30.849
14. Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1:31.317
15. Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 1:31.409
16. Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1:31.597
17. Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 1:31.885
18. Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:30.022
19. Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:30.413
20. Fernando Alonso Mclaren Honda 1:30.687


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming