Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Formula 1

Raikkonen on top as Ferrari bounce back

Kimi Raikkonen clocked the fastest time as Ferrari bounced back to top the times ahead of Mercedes in Saturday morning’s third and final free practice session for Sunday’s Spanish Grand Prix.

The Finn, who dominated the session, clocked a best time of one minute and 20.214 seconds to outpace his Ferrari teammate and championship leader four-time champion German Sebastian Vettel by 0.242 seconds.

Briton Lewis Hamilton was third fastest for Mercedes, who had a troubled morning as teammate Finn Valtteri Bottas managed only seven laps after mechanical problems had forced a change of engine during the session.

Bottas, who scored his maiden victory at last month’s Russian Grand Prix, was switched back to the power unit used in the opening four races after suffering electrical and water leak problems.

Hamilton had topped the times in both sessions on Friday to encourage Mercedes to believe that their upgrades package had brought them back to the front of the pack.

Last year’s winner Dutch teenager Max Verstappen was fifth for Red Bull ahead of teammate Australian Daniel Ricciardo, German Nico Hulkenberg of Renault and Brazilian Felipe Massa of Williams.

Spaniard Carlos Sainz was ninth for Toro Rosso ahead of his compatriot and local hero two-time champion Fernando Alonso in his troubled McLaren-Honda, a strong showing in front of their home fans.

Alonso will miss the Monaco Grand Prix later this month to take part in the Indianapolis 500.


1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:20.214

2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 1:20.456

3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:20.595

4. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes 1:20.868

5. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull - TAG Heuer 1:21.025

6. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - TAG Heuer 1:21.249

7. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault 1:21.670

8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1:21.746

9. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso - Renault 1:21.835

10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1:22.093

11. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas - Ferrari 1:22.128

12. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas - Ferrari 1:22.214

13. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes 1:22.237

14. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India - Mercedes 1:22.297

15. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - Renault 1:22.391

16. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - Ferrari 1:22.513

17. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes 1:22.574

18. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1:22.755

19. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1:22.853

20. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1:22.974


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming