Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Dakar Rally

Stephane Peterhansel © Gallo Images

Peterhansel leads Dakar into Bolivia

Defending champion Stephane Peterhansel led the Dakar Rally into Bolivia on Thursday but Peugeot team mate Carlos Sainz trimmed the Frenchman's lead with his first stage win of this year's event.

Peterhansel ended the sixth stage from the Peruvian city of Arequipa to La Paz with a 27-minute advantage over the Spaniard, a two-times world rally champion and father of the Formula One driver with the same name.

Sainz beat Peterhansel by four minutes and six seconds in the 313km stage, split into two sections with a 238km neutralised stint to the shores of Lake Titicaca and the Bolivian Altiplano.

The first 118km section of the stage ended at an altitude of 4,722 metres.

Toyota's Dutch driver Bernhard Ten Brinke was third but falling further back and more than an hour and 20 minutes behind.

This video is not available in your region

Peterhansel has won more Dakars than anyone and is now chasing his 14th title in a gruelling event that ends in Argentina on January 20.

The car category now looks sure to be won by one of the Peugeot drivers in what is also the manufacturer's farewell to the event.

However, nothing can be taken for granted in the treacherous and tricky conditions.

In the motorcycle standings, Argentina's Kevin Benavides took over the lead from Yamaha's French rider Adrien van Beveren.

The Honda rider ended the stage a minute and 57 seconds clear of his Yamaha rival.

Friday is a rest stage in La Paz.



1. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Peugeot) 2hr 53min 30sec
2. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) at 4:06
3. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 5:05
4. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 5:31
5. Cyril Despres/David Castera (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 8:49
6. Mikko Hirvonen/Andreas Schulz (FIN/GER/Mini) 8:56
7. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Michel Périn (NED/FRA/Toyota) 9:31
8. Lucio Alvarez/Robert Howie (ARG/RSA/Toyota) 12:26
9. Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek (CZE/CZE/Ford) 12:31
10. Jakub Przygonski/Tom Colsoul (POL/BEL/Mini) 12:39

Overall standings

1. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 16hr 25min 02sec.
2. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Peugeot) at 27:10
3. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Michel Périn (NED/FRA/Toyota) 1 h 20:41
4. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 1 h 24:20
5. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 1 h 35:59
6. Jakub Przygonski/Tom Colsoul (POL/BEL/Mini) 2 h 25:16
7. Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek (CZE/CZE/Ford) 2 h 25:52
8. Eugenio Amos/Sebastien Delaunay (ITA/FRA/2wd) 2 h 30:58
9. Patrick Sireyjol/François-Xavier Beguin (FRA/BEL/Buggy) 3 h 25:35
10. Peter Van Merksteijn/Maciej Marton (NED/POL/Toyota) 3 h 53:24

1. Antoine Meo (FRA/Ktm) 1hr 54min 10sec
2. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) at 30sec
3. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) same time
4. Diego Martin Duplessis (ARG/Honda) 1:13
5. Daniel Oliveras Carreras (ESP/Ktm) 1:55
6. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 2:00
7. Daniel Nosiglia Jager (BOL/Ktm) 2:13
8. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 3:06
9. Xavier De Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 3:12
10. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA/Yamaha) 3:27

Overall standings

1. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 16hr 33min 20sec
2. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA/Yamaha) at 1:57
3. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 2:50
4. Xavier De Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 9:24
5. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 9:33
6. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 9:39
7. Antoine Meo (FRA/Ktm) 10:42
8. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 16:42
9. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/Ktm) 18:08
10. Stefan Svitko (SVK/Ktm) 29:11


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming