Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Dakar Rally

Cyril Despres © Gallo Images

Despres leads Dakar, Giniel third

Frenchman Cyril Despres put Peugeot into the lead of the Dakar Rally on Sunday as the French manufacturer bounced back from a difficult opening day in the dunes around Pisco in southern Peru.

A five-times winner on two wheels, Despres took over at the top of the car classification from earlier starter Qatari Nasser al-Attiyah who had won Saturday's short first timed stage from Lima.

Despres ended the day with a 27-second lead over his compatriot, team mate and defending champion Stephane Peterhansel, who is chasing his 14th Dakar title.

Peugeot finished one-two-three in the stage, with nine-times world rally champion Sebastian Loeb third after losing his brakes on Saturday.

South African Giniel de Villiers was in third place overall for Toyota, however, five minutes 44 seconds behind Despres.

This video is not available in your region

Toyota's Al-Attiyah had the handicap of opening the 267-km stage, a loop around Pisco, with no motorcycle tracks for guidance this time and his French co-driver Matthieu Baumel feeling unwell in a stage requiring careful navigation.

The Qatari dropped to fifth overall, 12 minutes 15 seconds off the lead.

"It was not easy, Matthieu was completely sick after 15km and we needed to take care," said the two-times winner.

"We are quite happy to finish... tomorrow we'll have a better road. If we start in a good position, it will be no problem, I think."

In the motorcycle category, Britain's defending champion Sam Sunderland lost the lead to Honda's Spanish rider Joan Barreda and fell to fourth overall.

Barreda leads French Yamaha rider Adrien van Beveren by two-and-a-half minutes.

Monday's 296-km third stage is south from Pisco to the coastal town of San Juan de Marcona.



1. Cyril Despres/David Castera (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 2 h 56:51
2. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) at 48
3. Sébastien Loeb/Daniel Elena (FRA/MON/Peugeot) 3:08
4. Giniel De Villiers /Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 7:26
5. Orlando Terranova/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Mini) 12:53
6. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Peugeot) 13:09
7. Mikko Hirvonen/Andreas Schulz (FIN/GER/Mini) 13:50
8. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 14:51
9. Ronan Chabot/Gilles Pillot (FRA/FRA/Toyota) 16:13
10. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Michel Périn (NED/FRA/Toyota) 19:54

Overall standings

1. Cyril Despres/David Castera (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 3 h 21:18
2. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) at 27
3. Giniel De Villiers /Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 5:44
4. Sébastien Loeb/Daniel Elena (FRA/MON/Peugeot) 6:09
5. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 12:15
6. Orlando Terranova/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Mini) 12:50
7. Mikko Hirvonen/Andreas Schulz (FIN/GER/Mini) 12:50
8. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Peugeot) 13:12
9. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Michel Périn (NED/FRA/Toyota) 17:43
10. Nani Roma/Alex Haro Bravo (ESP/ESP/Mini) 20:48


1. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 2 h 56:44
2. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA/Yamaha) at 2:54
3. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 4:24
4. Michael Metge (FRA/Honda) 4:39
5. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 5:43
6. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 5:45
7. Sam Sunderland (GBR/Ktm) 6:01
8. Xavier De Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 6:12
9. Franco Caimi (ARG/Yamaha) 6:36
10. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 6:40

Overall standings

1. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 3 h 18:36
2. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA/Yamaha) at 2:30
3. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 4:50
4. Sam Sunderland (GBR/Ktm) 5:04
5. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 5:44
6. Xavier De Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 6:22
7. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 6:39
8. Franco Caimi (ARG/Yamaha) 7:10
9. Michael Metge (FRA/Honda) 7:33
10. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 9:04


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming