Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Formula 1

Rosberg on top in final German practice

Nico Rosberg returned to the top of the timesheets in final practice for his home German Grand Prix on Saturday as Mercedes again ended the session clear of the rest.

Rosberg, who leads teammate Lewis Hamilton by four points at the halfway stage in the Formula One championship, lapped with a best time of one minute 17.779 seconds on a baking morning at Hockenheim.

With clear skies and track temperatures approaching 50 degrees Celsius, the German was a considerable 0.601 faster than Hamilton - who set the pace on Friday but looks to have his work cut out in qualifying if he is to beat Rosberg to pole.

Mercedes also finished both Friday sessions with their drivers first and second.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, winner of the last two races held at Hockenheim with the latest in 2012, was third fastest and 0.605 slower than Rosberg despite a spin.

Williams drivers Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas were fourth and fifth respectively with McLaren's Danish rookieKevin Magnussen making it five Mercedes-engined cars in the top six.

Germany's quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel, winner at the Nuerburgring last year, was only ninth fastest with Red Bull teammate Daniel Ricciardo seventh.


1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:17.779
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:18.380
3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:18.384
4. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1:18.575
5. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 1:18.611
6. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 1:18.756
7. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:18.769
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:18.842
9. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:18.890
10. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1:19.127
11. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - Renault 1:19.131
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Renault 1:19.470
13. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:19.489
14. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes 1:19.505
15. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1:19.601
16. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 1:20.078
17. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Ferrari 1:20.198
18. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus - Renault 1:20.466
19. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1:20.844
20. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham - Renault 1:21.018
21. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham - Renault 1:23.077
22. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Ferrari 1:23.449


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming