Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Football | Zambia

Wedson Nyirenda © Gallo Images

Ng'onga back in Chipolopolo fold

Zambia national team coach Wedson Nyirenda has listed 20 players in his final squad for the third round, first leg African Nations Championship (Chan) qualifier with South Africa this weekend.

The list was released to supersport.com by Football Association of Zambia (FAZ) Communications Manager Desmond Katongo on Tuesday, 8 August, 2017.

Katongo stated that the team was expected to depart for South Africa on Thursday.

Prominent on the list is Power Dynamos striker Alex Ng'onga who has scored three goals in four appearances since returning to the MTN FAZ Super League from Gabonese outfit C.F. Mounana last month.

Ng'onga, 24, returns to the national team fold for the first time since coming on as a second half substitute in Zambia's 2 – 0 win over Rwanda in an international friendly match played at the National Heroes Stadium on 29 March 2015.

He replaces Brian Mwila who is no longer eligible for the competition after moving to the Absa Premier Soccer League to join Platinum Stars early this month.

Meanwhile, Collins Sikombe of Napsa Stars, Mike Katiba of Green Buffaloes and Nkana defender Moses Nyondo have been recalled after missing the Swaziland tie.

There are also notable absentees on the list, with Zesco United midfielder Kondwani Mtonga missing out due to injury while Napsa Stars defender Solomon Sakala has travelled to Portugal for trials.

Other players who have missed out are Taonga Bwembya, John Ching'andu, Dave Daka, Clatous Chama, Lubinda Mundia and goalkeeper Kelvin Malunga.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Chibwe Allan (Power Dynamos), Toaster Nsabata (Zanaco);

Defenders: Shamujompa Isaac (Power Dynamos), Donashano Malama (Nkana) Simon Silwimba (Zesco), Fackson Kapumbu (Zesco) Boston Muchindu (Nkana), Ziyo Tembo (Zanaco), Adrian Chama (Green Buffaloes), Moses Nyondo (Nkana);

Midfielders: Ngwenya Godfrey (Power Dynamos), Jack Chirwa (Green Buffaloes), Sikombe Collins(NAPSA), Augustine Mulenga (Zanaco), Mike Katiba (Green Buffaloes), John Ching’andu (Zesco);

Strikers: Shonga Justin (Nkwazi), Ernest Mbewe (Zanaco), Martin Phiri (Power Dynamos), Alex N’gonga (Power Dynamos).


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming