Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Football | Super Eagles

Gernot Rohr © Shengolpixs

Rohr calls on Mikel, Musa, Onazi

Captain Mikel John Obi, Ahmed Musa and Ogenyi Onazi topped the list of 24 players Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr invited for the 2018 Fifa World Cup qualifier against Algeria.

The Eagles will face the North Africans in the group’s dead rubber World Cup qualifying clash on Friday in Constantine, Algeria.

The same set of players will participate in the prestige international friendly clash against Argentina in Russia four days later.

Goalkeepers Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Daniel Akpeyi also made the cut as well as defenders Abdullahi Shehu, Leon Balogun and William Ekong, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo.

There is a first call for impressive Deportivo La Coruna goalkeeper Francis Uzoho as well as former U17 World Cup winner Chidiebere Nwakali. Russia-based Brian Idowu has been placed on standby only for the friendly with Argentina.

2013 Afcon winner Kenneth Omeruo is on standby for both matches alongside former junior international Alhassan Ibrahim, who now plays in Austria.

All invited players are expected to arrive in a camp in Morocco on Monday, November 6, before the delegation flies to Constantine on Thursday, November 9.

On Saturday, November 11, a 45-seater chartered aircraft will fly the Super Eagles from Constantine to Krasnodar, the Russian city that will host the international friendly against Argentina on Tuesday, November 14.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain)

Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey), Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands), Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany), Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France), Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey), Chidiebere Nwakali (Sogndal FC, Norway)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England), Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China), Henry Onyekuru (RSC Anderlecht, Belgium), Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Standby: Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Alhassan Ibrahim (FK Austria Wien, Austria); Brian Idowu (FC Amkar Perm, Russia)


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming