Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Football | Nigeria

Bauchi, three others for Shell Cup

Four centres have been pencilled down to host the zonal preliminaries of the on-going 2017 All Nigeria Secondary School Football Championship, tagged NNPC/Shell Cup.

The zones earmarked for the preliminary football action are Katsina, Bauchi, Uyo and Ijebu Ode.

The state champions are expected to arrive at their respective zones on Tuesday to commence the football hostilities that will determine quarterfinalists of the annual championship.

Each centre is expected to host two groups of matches on two pitches as matches will be played simultaneously in the venues.

The harmonised fixtures are adopted to make up for the delay in the commencement of the zonal matches.

Uyo centre will receive champions from Rivers, Ebonyi, Anambra, Bayelsa, Imo, Benue, Enugu, Cross River, Abia and Ogun states while Ijebu Ode will accommodate actors coming from Lagos, Oyo, Ondo, Kwara, Kogi, Osun, Ekiti, Edo, Akwa Ibom and Delta states.

In Katsina the zonal preliminaries will involve Jigawa, Kano, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Nasarawa, Kaduna, FCT and Bauchi.

Bauchi will host the gladiators from Yobe, Gombe, Adamawa, Borno, Niger, Taraba, Plateau and Katsina.

The best two teams from each of the groups will book their passage to the quarterfinal stage.

Excel Education Centre, Port Harcourt are the title holders of the annual football championship.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Dr Errol Sweeney
Ronaldo’s red was right
The recent red card handed out to Christiano Ronaldo was, in my opinion, correct.

Abiye Opuamah
Arsenal and Chelsea serve up an appetiser
I was like the proverbial kid in a candy shop as I waited with bated breath for the start of the...

Calvin Emeka Onwuka
Wayne Rooney - A Man United great
It was the summer of 2003 and a few weeks after the 2002-03 premier league season ended with...

Segun Odegbami
Why Cameroon must fall
These are not the best of times for Nigerian football and for those in the business in Nigeria.