Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Football | Kenya

Willis Ouma @ SS com

Chemelil upset Sony in Awendo

Sony Sugar got a rude shock at the Awendo Green Stadium after visiting Chemelil Sugar upset them 0-2 in the sugar belt derby played on Sunday afternoon.

Veteran Willis Ouma set up Edwin Omondi, who scored the opener after the restart before he himself scored the second goal from the spot to hand coach Juma Abdalla a winning return to the Kenyan Premier League.

The first half was a see-saw affair that saw both sides trade mild chances. Yemi Mwana had the best opportunity but his resultant shot went inches wide.

Edwin Omondi broke the deadlock to end the first half's stalemate as he rose high to connect home from a Willis Ouma's cross 10 minutes after the restart as Chemelil Sugar took the deserved 1-0 lead away from home.

Juma Abdalla made a tactical substitution, bringing on Morris Wandera in place of Oscar Oketch. Ouma then added his name on the score sheet as he stepped forward to score from the spot after Victor Ademba was adjudged to have fouled Collins Neto inside the box.

The hosts worked on turning the game with more dominance, buoyed by the introduction of George Abege towards the hour mark but it was not enough to stop Chemelil Sugar who were firing on all cylinders.

Chemelil Sugar fought tooth and nail, holding on to the important win as they claimed the bragging rights in the sugar belt derby, winning their first game of the season away from home.

Sony Sugar Starting XI: 31 Kevin Omondi (GK), 6 Bernard Omondi, 3 Samuel Okare, 13 Justin Omari, 17 Joseph Omweri, 21 Fredrick Onyango, 10 Boniface Muchiri, 20 Victor Ademba, 7 Rampei Lewis, 15 Justin Monda , 14 Yemi Mwana,

Substitutes: 22 Tom Muthomi, 26 Alfred Onyango, 12 Simiyu David, 8 Mahero Valon, 24 Abege George 31 Curtis Wekesa, 4 Hamissi Abdalla.

Chemelil Sugar Starting XI: 22 Adira Jairus 13 Ouma Willis, 5 Omino James , 26 Ouko Smith, 3 Juma Yussuf, 2 Ojwang David 12 Echesa Hillary, 6 Edwin Omondi, 20 Oscar Oketch,11 Owiti Jaffery, 18 Neto Collins

Subs: 32 Ayimo Richard. 23 Oketch Benjamin, 14 Obuno Morris , 17 Mustapha Adebayo, 25 Ominde Faraj, 10 Oyugi Shafan, 28 Mwita John.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Sunday Oliseh
Why you shouldn't bet against Juventus
When you play at Juventus, all you have to worry about is playing football. The club’s management...

Dr Errol Sweeney
Hypocrisy among managers and players
The recent outburst by the manager of Glasgow Celtic Football Club displayed double standards and...

Calvin Emeka Onwuka
Pochettino needs a trophy
The Argentine has until the end of next season at the very most to win a trophy, otherwise he will...

Segun Odegbami
Champions League down to the wire
Football is a psychologically brutal game. It does not take any prisoners. It is cold and...