Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Football | Kenya

AFC Leopards © Backpagepix

AFC Leopards announce squad

Former Tusker FC striker and former Harambee Stars striker Augustine Etemesi has been drafted in the 26-man AFC leopards squad that will feature in the coming Kenya Premier League (KPL) season.

Other new signings named yesterday by the club after a two weeks intensive trials include former West Kenya Sugar Goalkeeper Patrick Matasi, Hashim Mukhwana (Posta Rangers), Israel Ogude (Red Berets), Nicholas Muyoti, Laurent Tumba, Evans Wandera, Hugo Nzoka (Sofapaka FC) and Silas Aluvisia from Sony Sugar .

Other new signings include Emmanuel Tostao(Mathare Youth), Brian Masiolo(Western Stima), Edward Seda, John Amboko, and Evalistus Shamala .

The club has however released over 15 players to join other clubs. They include Goalkeeper Lawrence Webo, Wellington Murwahi, Franklin Osama, Harry Gentle, Shaban Abdulrahman, Samuel Misse, Umekwe Ekene, and Gregory Nyapala. The fate of James 'Junior Kombo, Paul Ojiambo, Ken Omunyinyi still remains a mystery as club officials declined to state their status.

Players who have been retained include Goalkeeper Barnabas Tiema, Milton Milimo, Martin Imbalambala, Edwin Wafula, and Benard Mangoli. Others are Demonde Selenga, Itubu Imbem and Joseph Okumu respectively.

The club secretariat has announced they are yet to finalise with the release of Evalistus Shamala, John Amboko, Masiolo, Aluvisia and Tostao with their former clubs.

The club recently named a new technical bench led by head coach Robert Bollen from Belgium. Three former officials led by logistics manager Gilbert Selebwa, Deputy coach Daniel”Dino”Kitavi and team manager Tonny Lidonde have been shown the door on mysterious circumstances.

However, suspended secretary General Robert Asembo termed the new developments as null and void as the term of office for those who made the changes had expired last month.He said unless elections are held in a day to be determined by the Milimani Commercial court on Friday afternoon,nobody should issue any directive in the club.

The 26 players named on Monday by the club secretariat comprise of; Goalkeepers-Brian Tiema, Patrick Matasi.

Defenders- Milton Milimo, Martin Imbalambala, Edwin Wafula, Hashim Mukhwana, Douglas Okumu Odhiambo, Edigar Wando, Evalistus Shamala, John Amboko,Israel Ogude

Midfielders- Benard Mangoli, Nicholas Muyoti, Emmanuel Tostao, Abraham Cokie, Edward Seda, Laurent Tumba,Evans Wandera,Augustine Etemesi.

Strikers- Hugo Nzoka,Paul Odhiambo, Demonde Selenga, Joseph Okumu, Brian Masiolo , Sailus Aluvisia.

Technical Bench members- Robert Matano(Technical Director),Noah Wanyam(Technical Advisor), Robert Bhollen(Head coach), Elliud Omukuywa(Assistant coach), Benard Onyango(Team Manager), Haggai Malenya(Assistant team manager), Patrick Ngusale(Team Doctor).


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Dr Errol Sweeney
More controversy surrounding VAR
A question that has been asked many, many times – who would want to be a referee, particularly in...

Calvin Emeka Onwuka
Fifa Confed Cup - All eyes on Russia
The 2017 Fifa Confederations Cup starting this weekend in Russia is a huge test for the hosts and...

Segun Odegbami
Eagles - this time truly beaten
Last Saturday in Uyo, something went very wrong for Nigeria’s Super Eagles, and very right for...

Sunday Oliseh
Ajax could be United’s worst nightmare
In the early 1970s, a refreshingly new set of young Dutch players, led by the now late, but still...