Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Football | Bafana Bafana

Lucas Radebe © Backpagepix

Radebe, Benni in search for new Bafana coach

Former Bafana Bafana greats Lucas Radebe and Benni McCarthy form part of the committee set up by the SA Football Association (Safa) to urgently search for and appoint the new coach of the senior men’s national team.

Other members of the Committee are Farouk Khan, Buda Mathathe, Anna Nyman, Neil Tovey, Clive Barker and Technical Committee chair Natasha Tsichlas.

After deliberations, the committee will draw up a shortlist of candidates before naming the head coach in the coming few days.

Safa president, Dr Danny Jordaan, CEO Dennis Mumble and Vice-President Elvis Shishana will also sit on the committee to oversee the process.

Radebe is a former Bafana Bafana long time captain who had a standout career at Leeds United in England, which he captained with distinction.

McCarthy remains Bafana Bafana’s top goal scorer of all time and has just completed his Uefa Pro A Coaching License. He is also among a few South African players that enjoyed distinguished careers overseas having been on the books of Celta Vigo in Spain, Porto in Portugal and Blackburn Rovers in England.

Khan is a renowned development coach while Mathathe is the chairperson of the South African Football Legends.

Barker is still the only former Bafana Bafana coach to have won the Africa Cup of Nations Tournament (1996) alongside Tovey as his captain. The latter is now the Technical Director at Safa.

More than sixty applications have been received and some of the candidates are Roberto Mancini, Giovanni Trapattoni, Hassan Shehata, Hugo Broos, Muhsin Ertugral, Samson Siasia, Lothar Mattheus, Bernd Schuster, while some are still contracted to their teams and cannot be mentioned.

“We want to have the process expedited as Bafana Bafana have a bumper 2017 season in which they need to compete and qualify on three fronts – namely CHAN, AFCON and the Fifa World Cup in Russia 2018,” said Dr Jordaan.


  • Natasha Tsichlas
  • Benni McCarthy
  • Lucas Radebe
  • Anna Nyman
  • Farouk Khan
  • Clive Barker
  • Buda Mathathe
  • Neil Tovey
  • Elvis Shishana
  • Dennis Mumble
  • Danny Jordaan


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming