Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Evan Huffman © Gallo Images

Huffman wins stage four in California

Unheralded American Evan Huffman won Wednesday's fourth stage of the Tour of California between Santa Barbara and Santa Clarita while Poland's Rafal Majka retained the yellow jersey as overall leader.

The 27-year-old Huffman won the 159.5-kilometre stage from the breakaway by finishing ahead of Canadian teammate Rob Britton and Dutchman Lennard Hofstede.

"I can't believe we did it," Huffman said. "It's surreal, amazing. I was thinking about last year's stage during the last 10km, and how much it would suck to not win again. I gave it everything I had in the last 100 metres."

Huffman and his teammates narrowly withstood the challenge of a peloton that featured some marquee sprinters. Slovakian Peter Sagan, winner of the third stage on Tuesday and Majka's teammate, settled for sixth.

Majka has led the Tour since his victory in the second stage on Monday. He now has a two-second lead in the general classification ahead of New Zealander George Bennett. American Ian Boswell is third, only 14 seconds behind.

Thursday's fifth stage, considered the most difficult of the event, is a climb up Mount Baldy that could result in a dramatic change to the leaderboard.

"Today was a very hard day but I had a great team to support me and my teammate Peter," Majka said. "We had all our teammates there, all at the front. I'm suffering a little today but maybe tomorrow will be better for me.

"I will have a lot of support from the team and I hope to have a great day. It's the first time that I will do this climb so we will see how it goes and how my legs are. If I have good legs then I will try to attack but if I'm tired I might follow.

"I hope I have good legs."


1. Evan Huffman (U.S. / Rally) 3:41:52"
2. Rob Britton (Canada / Rally) ST
3. Lennard Hofstede (Netherlands / Sunweb)
4. Mathias Le Turnier (France / Cofidis)
5. Gavin Mannion (U.S. / UnitedHealthcare)
6. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / BORA) +13"
7. John Degenkolb (Germany / Trek)
8. Marcel Kittel (Germany / Quick-Step)
9. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha)
10. Simone Consonni (Italy / UAE Team Emirates)
11. Ramon Sinkeldam (Netherlands / Sunweb)
12. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Dimension Data)
13. Jonas Van Genechten (Belgium / Cofidis)
14. Geoffrey Soupe (France / Cofidis)
15. Elia Viviani (Italy / Team Sky)
16. Greg Henderson (New Zealand / UnitedHealthcare)
17. Jacob Rathe (U.S. / Jelly Belly)
18. Serghei Tvetcov (Romania / Jelly Belly)
19. Rafal Majka (Poland / BORA)
20. Ruslan Tleubayev (Kazakhstan / Astana)
21. Brent Bookwalter (U.S. / BMC Racing)
22. Adam De Vos (Canada / Rally)
23. Jhonatan Restrepo (Colombia / Katusha)
24. Sam Oomen (Netherlands / Sunweb)
25. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / LottoNL)
26. Michael Schaer (Switzerland / BMC Racing)
27. Vegard Laengen (Norway / UAE Team Emirates)
28. Janier Acevedo (Colombia / UnitedHealthcare)
29. Andrew Talansky (U.S. / Cannondale)
30. Luis Angel Mate (Spain / Cofidis)


1. Rafal Majka (Poland / BORA) 16:04:48"
2. George Bennett (New Zealand / LottoNL) +2"
3. Ian Boswell (U.S. / Team Sky) +14"
4. Lachlan Morton (Australia / Dimension Data) +16"
5. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / LottoNL) +45"
6. Brent Bookwalter (U.S. / BMC Racing) +48"
7. Sam Oomen (Netherlands / Sunweb)
8. Andrew Talansky (U.S. / Cannondale)
9. Vegard Laengen (Norway / UAE Team Emirates)
10. Maximilian Schachmann (Germany / Quick-Step)
11. Enric Mas (Spain / Quick-Step)
12. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Britain / Team Sky)
13. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / Trek) +53"
14. Luis Angel Mate (Spain / Cofidis) +55"
15. Nicolas Edet (France / Cofidis)
16. Serghei Tvetcov (Romania / Jelly Belly) +58"
17. Janier Acevedo (Colombia / UnitedHealthcare) +1:02"
18. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / BMC Racing) +1:25"
19. Jhonatan Restrepo (Colombia / Katusha)
20. David Lopez (Spain / Team Sky) +2:41"
21. Michael Schaer (Switzerland / BMC Racing) +3:11"
22. Adam De Vos (Canada / Rally) +3:48"
23. Greg Henderson (New Zealand / UnitedHealthcare) +4:43"
24. Benjamin King (U.S. / Dimension Data) +4:45"
25. Tiago Machado (Portugal / Katusha) +4:47"
26. Scott Thwaites (Britain / Dimension Data) +4:59"
27. Pawel Poljanski (Poland / BORA) +5:04"
28. Jay McCarthy (Australia / BORA) +5:09"
29. Matteo Trentin (Italy / Quick-Step) +6:04"
30. Stephane Rossetto (France / Cofidis) +6:17"


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming