Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Peter Sagan © Gallo Images

Sagan claims stage, Majka keeps lead

Slovakia's Peter Sagan turned on the jets during the final uphill stretch to clinch the third stage of the Tour of California on Tuesday.

Sagan, a two-times world road race champion, clinched the relatively flat 192.5km stage into Morro Bay, but his Bora-Hansgrohe teammate Rafal Majka retained the yellow jersey he won on Monday's hilly ride through Northern California.

Majka leads Lotto NL-Jumbo's George Bennett with Team Sky's Ian Boswell third in the overall standings.

Daniel Jaramillo of UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling is leading the King of the Mountain competition.

Monday's stage included a violent crash by Latvian rider Toms Skujins, who suffered a concussion, a broken collarbone and grazing that forced him to withdraw from the race.

The seven-day race continues on Wednesday with a 159.5-km ride from Santa Barbara to Santa Clarita.

It is the first time the race has been staged as part of the World Tour, a designation that organizers hope will draw more top names in the sport from Europe.

However this year it also being held at the same time as the Giro d'Italia, with many of the sport's biggest names competing there rather than in California.

The race finishes in Pasadena on May 20.


1. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / BORA) 4:53:26"
2. Rick Zabel (Germany / Katusha) ST
3. Simone Consonni (Italy / UAE Team Emirates)
4. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha)
5. Jempy Druecker (Luxembourg / BMC Racing)
6. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Dimension Data)
7. Taylor Phinney (US / Cannondale)
8. Ramon Sinkeldam (Netherlands / Sunweb)
9. Travis McCabe (US / UnitedHealthcare)
10. Mike Teunissen (Netherlands / Sunweb)
11. Riccardo Minali (Italy / Astana)
12. Marcel Kittel (Germany / Quick-Step)
13. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / LottoNL)
14. Matti Breschel (Denmark / Astana)
15. John Degenkolb (Germany / Trek)
16. George Bennett (New Zealand / LottoNL) +3"
17. Brent Bookwalter (US / BMC Racing)
18. Matteo Trentin (Italy / Quick-Step)
19. Kiel Reijnen (US / Trek)
20. Wouter Wippert (Netherlands / Cannondale)


1. Rafal Majka (Poland / BORA) 12:22:43"
2. George Bennett (New Zealand / LottoNL) +2"
3. Ian Boswell (US / Team Sky) +14"
4. Lachlan Morton (Australia / Dimension Data) +16"
5. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / LottoNL) +45"
6. Brent Bookwalter (US / BMC Racing) +48"
7. Sam Oomen (Netherlands / Sunweb)
8. Andrew Talansky (US / Cannondale)
9. Vegard Laengen (Norway / UAE Team Emirates)
10. Maximilian Schachmann (Germany / Quick-Step)
11. Enric Mas (Spain / Quick-Step)
12. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Britain / Team Sky)
13. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / Trek) +53"
14. Luis Angel Mate (Spain / Cofidis) +55"
15. Nicolas Edet (France / Cofidis)
16. Serghei Tvetcov (Romania / Jelly Belly) +58"
17. Janier Acevedo (Colombia / UnitedHealthcare) +1:02"
18. David Lopez (Spain / Team Sky) +1:11"
19. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / BMC Racing) +1:25"
20. Jhonatan Restrepo (Colombia / Katusha)
23. Scott Thwaites (Britain / Dimension Data) +4:42"
25. Benjamin King (US / Dimension Data) +4:45"


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming