Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Nairo Quintana © Action Images

Quintana takes Tirreno stage, overall lead

Colombian climber Nairo Quintana pulled on the leader's blue jersey after a solo finish to win the fourth stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico in Italy on Saturday.

The Movistar rider broke away from his rivals with two kilometres to go, crossing comfortably ahead of the British duo of Sky's Geraint Thomas, at 17 seconds, and Orica's Adam Yates at 23 seconds.

"I wasn't sure of what I could do today as I had been sick a few days ago but our tactic was to have someone ahead before I launched my attack and that's what happened with (Jonathan) Castroviejo," said Quintana of his Spanish teammate.

The win after 187km between Montalto di Castro and Monte Terminillo allowed the South American to take the overall race lead from Australian Rohan Dennis.

"The advantage I have on GC (general classification) now is significant. It gives me some confidence ahead of the second half of the race."

Sunday's mountainous fifth stage covers 210km from Rieti, through the Apennine Mountains before seven steep climbs to the Torretta pass, towards the finish line at Fermo.


1. Nairo Quintana (COL/ MOV) 5:27:22
2. Geraint Thomas (GBR/ SKY) +18
3. Adam Yates (GBR/ ORS) +24
4. Rigoberto Uran Uran (COL/ CDT) +24
5. Simon Špilak (SLO/ KAT) +29
6. Tom Dumoulin (NED/ SUN) +41
7. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ ALM) +41
8. Mikel Landa Meana (ESP/ SKY) +41
9. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/ FDJ) +46
10. Primož Roglic (SLO/ TLJ) +51
11. Bauke Mollema (NED/ TFS) +51
12. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/ MOV) +51
13. Egan Arley Bernal Gomez (COL/ ANS) +1:01
14. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/ ORS) +1:10
15. Rohan Denis (AUS/ BMC) +1:17
16. Daniel Moreno (ESP/ MOV) +1:17
17. Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (POR/ UAD) +1:22
18. Michele Scarponi (ITA/ AST) +1:22
19. Rafal Majka (POL/ BOH) +1:39
20. Damiano Caruso (ITA/ BMC) +1:43
72. Daryl Impey (RSA/ ORS) +13:59
82. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ DDD) +15:46
88. Jay Robert Thomson (RSA/ DDD) +20:22
105. Mark Cavendish (GBR/ DDD) +20:22
108. Stephen Cummings (GBR/ DDD) +20:22
133. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/ DDD) +26:37
141. Mark Renshaw (AUS/ DDD) +26:37
149. Johann Van Zyl (RSA/ DDD) +26:37


1. Nairo Quintana (Colombia/ MOV) 16:34:46
2. Adam Yates (Great Britain/ ORS) +33
3. Thibaut Pinot (France/ FDJ) +56
4. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain/ MOV) +1:01
5. Rohan Denis (Australia/ BMC) +1:06
6. Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands/ SUN) +1:19
7. Primož Roglic (Slovenia/ TLJ) +1:19
8. Geraint Thomas (Great Britain/ SKY) +1:23
9. Daniel Moreno (Spain/ MOV) +1:27
10. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy/ ALM) +1:29
11. Rigoberto Uran Uran (Colombia/ CDT) +1:30
12. Damiano Caruso (Italy/ BMC) +1:32
13. Bauke Mollema (Netherlands/ TFS) +1:37
14. Bob Jungels (Luxembourg/ QST) +1:52
15. Simon Špilak (Slovenia/ KAT) +1:53
16. Andrey Amador Bikkazakova (Costa Rica/ MOV) +1:53
17. Michele Scarponi (Italy/ AST) +2:05
18. Tejay Van Garderen (United States/ BMC) +2:08
19. Robert Gesink (Netherlands/ TLJ) +2:15
20. Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Portugal/ UAD) +2:19
37. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway/ DDD) +6:54
62. Scott Thwaites (Great Britain/ DDD) +18:54
68. Daryl Impey (South Africa/ ORS) +21:12
112. Stephen Cummings (Great Britain/ DDD) +32:43
116. Mark Cavendish (Great Britain/ DDD) +33:36
136. Jay Robert Thomson (South Africa/ DDD) +38:47
139. Bernhard Eisel (Austria/ DDD) +38:57
148. Johann Van Zyl (South Africa/ DDD) +41:17
152. Mark Renshaw (Australia/ DDD) +42:44


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming