Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Sagan wins Tirreno stage three

World champion Peter Sagan sprinted to victory on stage three of the Tirreno-Adriatico on Friday as a crash ruined the chances of some of his rivals in Montalto di Castro.

Team Sky looked well-placed to take their second stage in succession as Italian Elia Viviani was the first to launch his attack but Bora-Hansgrohe rider Sagan roared past him out of the bunch to win by a bike length.

The likes of Mark Cavendish and Fernando Gaviria did not feature after being caught up crash 500m from the line.

BMC's Australian rider Rohan Dennis took the overall leader's jersey from teammate Greg Van Avermaet.

After suffering with illness in the build-up to the race, forcing him to pull out of the Strade Bianche last weekend, Sagan said he was back at full power.

"The season only starts now. I hope this is not the last victory," the Slovakian said after his first victory of the season. Saturday's stage 171-km stage four ends in Terminillo.


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/ BOH) 4:51:59
2. Elia Viviani (ITA/ SKY) +0
3. Jurgen Roelandts (BEL/ LTS) +0
4. Sacha Modolo (ITA/ UAD) +0
5. Luka Mezgec (SLO/ ORS) +0
6. Rick Zabel (GER/ KAT) +0
7. Andrea Palini (ITA/ ANS) +0
8. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/ UAD) +0
9. Georg Preidler (AUT/ SUN) +0
10. Ramon Sinkeldam (NED/ SUN) +0
11. Geraint Thomas (GBR/ SKY) +0
12. Koen De Kort (NED/ TFS) +0
13. Reto Hollenstein (SUI/ KAT) +0
14. Anthony Roux (FRA/ FDJ) +0
15. Marko Kump (SLO/ UAD) +0
16. Søren Kragh Andersen (DEN/ SUN) +0
17. Fabio Aru (ITA/ AST) +0
18. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/ TBM) +0
19. Matteo Trentin (ITA/ QST) +0
20. Mike Teunissen (NED/ SUN) +0
27. Mark Cavendish (GBR/ DDD) +0
30. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/ DDD) +0
48. Mark Renshaw (AUS/ DDD) +0
54. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ DDD) +0
65. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/ DDD) +0
83. Daryl Impey (RSA/ ORS) +0
105. Johann Van Zyl (RSA/ DDD) +2:20
150. Jay Robert Thomson (RSA/ DDD) +9:13
166. Stephen Cummings (GBR/ DDD) +9:13


1. Rohan Denis (AUS/ BMC) 11:07:13
2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/ BMC) +0
3. Damiano Caruso (ITA/ BMC) +0
4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/ BMC) +0
5. Niki Terpstra (NED/ QST) +16
6. Bob Jungels (LUX/ QST) +16
7. Nairo Quintana (COL/ MOV) +21
8. Andrey Amador Bikkazakova (CRC/ MOV) +21
9. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/ MOV) +21
10. Daniel Moreno (ESP/ MOV) +21
11. Sébastien Reichenbach (SUI/ FDJ) +21
12. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/ FDJ) +21
13. Adam Yates (GBR/ ORS) +24
14. Primož Roglic (SLO/ TLJ) +39
15. Robert Gesink (NED/ TLJ) +39
16. Tom Dumoulin (NED/ SUN) +49
17. Tim Wellens (BEL/ LTS) +51
18. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/ DDD) +52
19. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/ TBM) +52
20. Fabio Aru (ITA/ AST) +54
56. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ DDD) +3:19
81. Daryl Impey (RSA/ ORS) +7:24
117. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/ DDD) +12:31
118. Stephen Cummings (GBR/ DDD) +12:32
124. Mark Cavendish (GBR/ DDD) +13:25
138. Johann Van Zyl (RSA/ DDD) +14:51
145. Mark Renshaw (AUS/ DDD) +16:18
151. Jay Robert Thomson (RSA/ DDD) +18:36


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Will more cyclists make the sport safer in 2015?
Everybody is saying it: we need to get more people on bicycles on our roads. The environmental,...