Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Chris Horner © Action Images

Horner becomes oldest Grand Tour winner

American Chris Horner became the oldest Grand Tour champion and the first US winner of the Tour of Spain when he sealed overall victory on Sunday for the biggest win of his 19 years as a professional rider.

RadioShack rider Horner, who turns 42 next month, left the sprinters to fight out the 21st and final stage of the three-week Vuelta and finished safely in the bunch to secure the race win 37 seconds ahead of Giro d'Italiachampion Vincenzo Nibali. Spain's Alejandro Valverde was third overall.

"This is a muy (very) special moment, muchas gracias (many thanks)" Horner, mixing English and Spanish, told fans after donning the race leader's red jersey for the final time on a sunny evening in central Madrid.

The stage win went to 22-year-old Australian Michael Matthews in a bunch sprint with American Tyler Farrarsecond and Germany's Niklas Arndt third.

At 41 years 11 months, Horner outstrips the previous oldest Grand Tour winner, Belgian Firmin Lambot who won the 1922 Tour de France, by five years.

This video is not available in your region
The Tour of Spain's previous oldest champion was Swiss Tony Rominger, who was aged 33 in the 1994 race.

Horner had said the Vuelta's mountainous route, with climbs as early as stage two, favoured his racing style and he soon showed his intent with a solo victory in stage three on the uphill finish at the Mirador de Lobeira to briefly hold the race lead.

"I love the course. I thought its design was perfect for me, and when I came here and we did a good opening team time trial (finishing second) then I believed I could take the jersey, though I don't know if I believed I could win it," he told reporters.

Horner landed the first major blow against his rivals when he soared away from the pack at Hazallanas summit finish in southern Spain on stage 10, regaining the overall lead.

Pre-race favourite Nibali ousted him from top spot in stage 11's individual time trial but, as the Italian weakened in the final week of climbing through the Pyrenees and northern Spanish mountains, Horner's consistency allowed him to close the gap.

After taking the overall lead for a third time on stage 19 with a three-second margin over the Nibali, Horner then resisted the 2010 Vuelta champion's multiple attacks on the dauntingly steep slopes of the Alto de L'Angliru on Saturday to tighten his grip on the race.

"I've been a professional for almost 20 years, but Grand Tours have always been in a special place for me," Horner said.

"It's been a long journey to get here, but I have a lifetime of memories with this race."

STAGE 21 RESULTS 1. Michael Matthews (Australia / Orica) 2:44:00"
2. Tyler Farrar (U.S. / Garmin) ST
3. Nikias Arndt (Germany / Argos)
4. Gianni Meersman (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
5. Maximiliano Richeze (Argentina / Lampre)
6. Grega Bole (Slovenia / Vacansoleil)
7. Adrien Petit (France / Cofidis)
8. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Argos)
9. Francesco Lasca (Italy / Caja Rural)
10. Robert Wagner (Germany / Belkin)
11. Sebastian Haedo (Argentina / Cannondale)
12. Daniele Ratto (Italy / Cannondale)
13. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky)
14. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Team Sky)
15. Klaas Lodewyck (Belgium / BMC Racing)
16. Zakkari Dempster (Australia / NetApp)
17. Tosh Van der Sande (Belgium / Lotto)
18. Anthony Roux (France / FDJ.fr)
19. Vladimir Isaichev (Russia / Katusha) +3"
20. Michael Morkov (Denmark / Saxo - Tinkoff)


1. Chris Horner (U.S. / RadioShack) 84:36:04"
2. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) +37"
3. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +1:36"
4. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha) +3:22"
5. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +7:11"
6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) +8:00"
7. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ.fr) +8:41"
8. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) +9:51"
9. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp) +10:11"
10. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) +13:11"
11. Tanel Kangert (Estonia / Astana) +14:05"
12. Jose Herrada (Spain / Movistar) +16:48"
13. David Arroyo (Spain / Caja Rural) +17:34"
14. Dominik Nerz (Germany / BMC Racing) +19:26"
15. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Lampre) +22:04"
16. Andre Cardoso (Portugal / Caja Rural) +25:03"
17. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / RadioShack) +25:06"
18. Chris Sorensen (Denmark / Saxo - Tinkoff) +27:02"
19. Rafal Majka (Poland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +32:52"
20. Igor Anton (Spain / Euskaltel) +33:05"


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming