Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Women

Laura Wolvaardt © Getty Images

Three Proteas Women in WCup XI

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has congratulated three members of the Momentum Proteas women’s national squad – Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt and Marizanne Kapp – on their selection for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Team of the Tournament.

The Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 was selected by a five-person selection panel that comprised Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee), former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former England captain Charlotte Edwards, former India player turned journalist Snehal Pradhan and former Australia allrounder Lisa Sthalekar.

“This is another wonderful achievement by our women players,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“It shows the high growth curve we are presently enjoying and this is the first time we have this many players in the select XI.”

“It goes without saying that their selection was extremely well deserved. Dane (15) and Marizanne (13) were the two leading wicket-takers in the competition, despite playing two matches fewer than most of their challengers, while Laura scored more than 300 runs and also boasts the fifth best average – an impressive 64.80 – at the tender age of 18.

“Only England, the eventual champions, provided more players for the select XI.”

“We congratulate them all on being selected for a world team which is a wonderful achievement. I am certain this will be further inspiration for the team going forward,” concluded Mr. Lorgat.

“Batting has always been our headache,” coach Hilton Moreeng said. “The way the batters came to the party at this World Cup showed the amount of maturity, growth and work that was put in. The power-hitting was a real highlight and it’s an important element that can change the entire face of a game should a player be able to do that. So overall it was fantastic and it’s something we can certainly build on.”

The skipper averaged a miserly 10 runs per wicket and her best haul was the incredible four wickets for zero runs against West Indies during the group stages. It was one of three four-wicket hauls for Van Niekerk, who also contributed 99 runs with the bat.

Kapp, meanwhile, took her wickets at an average of 19.38 with a best return of 4-14, also against the West Indians. She was among four South Africans to have taken 10 or more wickets, the other two being Sune Luus (10 wickets at 17.40) and Shabnim Ismail (10 wickets at 26.40).

“Our bowlers generally always know what to do,” Moreeng added. “They’ve proven that in the different conditions that we’ve faced all over the world and they did it once again in England.

“It’s one of the best bowling attacks in the world and I can’t wait to see what else they do in future now that they have shown the world just how good they are.”

Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 (in batting order):


Tamsin Beaumont (England) – 410 runs
Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) – 324 runs
Mithali Raj (captain) (India) – 409 runs
Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 404 runs and nine wickets
Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England) – 396 runs, four catches and two stumpings
Harmanpreet Kaur (India) – 359 runs and five wickets
Deepti Sharma (India) – 216 runs and 12 wickets
Marizanne Kapp (South Africa) – 13 wickets
Dane van Niekerk (South Africa) – 99 runs and 15 wickets
Anya Shrubsole (England) – 12 wickets
Alex Hartley (England) – 10 wickets
Natalie Sciver (12th) (England) – 369 runs and seven wickets


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming