Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Women

Mignon du Preez © Gallo Images

Mignon du Preez new SA women’s captain

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Wednesday announced the 14-strong squad which will travel to Bangladesh for the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers from 14 to 25 November.

The team will have new leadership with 22-year old Mignon du Preez selected as the new team captain, taking over from Cri-Zelda Brits who is still a part of the team.

Du Preez is delighted with her new appointment and is looking forward to the new challenge.

“I’m completely overwhelmed but I’m very excited to get started and I will grab this opportunity with both hands. Our main aim right now is to qualify for the World Cups and we are hoping to continue taking the team forward in the right direction. Cri-Zelda (Brits) has been a great captain for the team, she has been a good leader and I hope to be able to make the same impact in South African cricket as she has done.

South Africa, along with nine other countries, will fight for the four positions available for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup to be held in India in 2013. The top two countries will also automatically qualify for a place in the ICC Women’s World T20 to be held in Sri Lanka in 2012.

Coach Yashin Ebrahim-Hassen is satisfied that the best possible squad will be travelling to the qualifiers; “We have made some tough choices but we have succeeded in getting a bit of depth in the team selected and we want to grow that depth. We are sure we got the balance right and hopefully, with Mignon (du Preez) at the helm, we’ll go to Bangladesh and bring the bacon home. Our results in Bangladesh will determine the direction in which women’s cricket in South Africa will go,” he said.

South Africa will be competing against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Zimbabwe, USA, West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland and Japan in order to get a chance to take part in the ultimate women’s cricket tournament.

South Africa share Group A with Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Zimbabwe and USA, while Group B consists of West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland, Japan and Bangladesh.

England, Australia, India and New Zealand have already qualified for the World Cup because of the fact that they finished in the top four at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2009.

CSA Senior Cricket Manager Max Jordaan said: “The women’s squad prepared very well for upcoming World Cup qualifier. They’ll be in a good space to give a good account of themselves in the tournament. The series result against England does not necessary reflect their performance and despite the result the team has improved in leaps and bounds and would be very competitive in Bangladesh.

Mignon will bring about a new flair in leadership and energy in guiding the team by example of endeavour and total commitment. I wish them well.”

The team leave for Bangladesh on 10 November.

SA team to Bangladesh: Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty (vice captain), Cri-Zelda Brits, Dinesha Devarain, Shandre Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Sunette Loubser, Kirstie Thomson, Chloe Tryon, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk, Moseline Daniels


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming