Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | South Africa A

Dale Steyn © Gallo Images

Markram captain, Steyn returns for SA 'A'

Aiden Markram and Khaya Zondo have been named as the respective captains of the South Africa ‘A’ four-day and 50-over squads for the upcoming tour of England announced on Wednesday.

The 22 year-old Multiply Titans batsman earns his debut SA ‘A’ call-up after an impressive breakthrough opening season. He scored 565 runs at an average of 51.36 - including two hundreds in the Sunfoil Series, a season which culminated in a record-breaking man-of-the-match performance of 161 off 123 balls in the Momentum One-Day Cup final.

Zondo was equally impressive on his debut season as fulltime captain of the Hollywoodbets Dolphins, scoring 740 runs at an average of 67.27 in the Sunfoil Series including two hundreds and five half-centuries.

“These are the players we are looking at as future leaders and we are excited to see them develop in this role,” CSA selection convener Linda Zondi said.

“Although Aiden hasn’t captained at Franchise level, he has been a player we have eyed since his role as captain of the world-cup winning SA U19 side. Khaya captained the Dolphins for the first time this season and along with being one of the leading run-scorers, has shown leadership qualities that we would like to develop.”

Proteas fast bowler, Dale Steyn, makes a return to action after a lengthy shoulder injury, and has been selected for the four-day squad as he continues to make encouraging progress to full match fitness.

Zondi says the four-day series will be an opportunity to scout out some of the fringe players ahead of the four-test series against England starting in July.

“The four-day series will give us an opportunity to see how some of the players who are on the fringes of the test squad perform in England ahead of the four-test series,” Zondi commented.

“We still have time to finalise the Test team so that series can give us some pointers before we finalise the test squad.”


Reeza Hendricks (bizhub Highveld Lions), Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors), Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Theunis de Bruyn (VKB Knights), Khaya Zondo – captain (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Heino Kuhn (Multiply Titans), Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions), Mangaliso Mosehle – wk (bizhub Highveld Lions), Sisanda Magala (Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans), Lungisani Ngidi (Multiply Titans), Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights), Junior Dala (Multiply Titans), Dane Paterson (BuildNat Cape Cobras).


Heino Kuhn (Multiply Titans), Aiden Markram – captain (Multiply Titans), Theunis de Bruyn (VKB Knights), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Jason Smith (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Heinrich Klaasen – wk (Multiply Titans), Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (VKB Knights), Dane Piedt (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Lungisani Ngidi (Multiply Titans), Dane Paterson (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights), Junior Dala (Multiply Titans), Beuran Hendricks (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Dale Steyn (BuildNat Cape Cobras).


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming