Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | International

Kieran Powell © Action Images

Powell, uncapped duo in West Indies squad

West Indies named uncapped batting pair Vishaul Singh and Shimron Hetmeyer and recalled Kieran Powell to face Pakistan in the first test starting on Friday. 

The 13-man squad for the first in the three-match series at Sabina Park in Kingston is captained by Jason Holder. 

Three players missing were Marlon Samuels, Darren Bravo and Leon Johnson who toured the United Arab Emirates last year for three tests against Pakistan. 

For Powell this marks a return to the test stage for the first time since 2014.

He figured in the West Indies' One-Day International series against England in March and Pakistan this month. 

West Indies chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said: "We have a young test squad, which was admirably led by Jason Holder during the last series and, though there are some noticeable absentees, we believe that the players will give a good account of themselves especially in their own backyard."

Squad: Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Vishaul Singh 

Match schedule 

1st Test: April 21-25 - West Indies v Pakistan at Sabina Park, Kingston  

2nd Test: April 30-May 4: West Indies v Pakistan at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown  

3rd Test: May 10-14: West Indies v Pakistan at Windsor Park, Roseau 



More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming