Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | IPL

Suresh Raina © Gallo Images

Raina ton leads Chennai to victory

Suresh Raina thumped a century as the Chennai Super Kings held on to secure a 15-run win over the Kings XI Punjab in their Indian Premier League match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Thursday.

Full Scorecard: Chennai v Punjab

Raina contributed 100 not out off 53 deliveries as Chennai posted 186 for four.

Punjab made a fine fist of their run chase but they could only manage 171 for six despite a 95-run fourth-wicket partnership off 8.4 overs between Shaun Marsh and David Miller with seamer Dwayne Bravo capturing 3-34.

Marsh weighed in with 73 off 51 balls eight fours and two sixes as he and Miller began the last over of the match needing 19 runs to win.

But seamer Dwayne Bravo bowled Marsh with the first ball of the last over before he had Gurkeerat Singh (0) caught at long-on with his next delivery.

Miller brought up his half-century, off just 25 balls and the third fastest of this year’s IPL, but Bravo claimed his third wicket of the over when he trapped Rajagopal Satish (0) leg-before.

Miller ended on a fine 51 not out off 26 balls with five fours and two sixes as Chennai claimed their sixth win on the trot.

Raina followed up his 63 not out against the Pune Warriors with 100 not out off just 53 deliveries with his first IPL ton including seven fours and six sixes after Chennai had won the toss and elected to bat.

This video is not available in your region

Albie Morkel and Raina hammered 74 runs for a fourth-wicket partnership that used up just 6.2 overs with Morkel contributing 23 off 16 deliveries although the South African did enjoy a life when he was dropped at deep square leg off the bowling of leg-spinner Piyush Chawla when he scored just seven.

Morkel departed in the 19th over when he was caught at long-on off the bowling of seamer Parvinder Awana.

Chennai lost Wriddhiman Saha (18) in the fourth over of their innings, caught at deep square leg off the bowling of Awana.

Michael Hussey and Raina then combined for a 55-run second-wicket stand off 7.2 overs with the in-form Michael Hussey contributing 35 off 29 balls before he walked past a quicker delivery from Chawla and was stumped.

Michael Hussey took his run-tally for this season’s IPL to 485, one more than Chris Gayle, to make him the leading run-scorer at this year’s IPL.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2) was run out before Raina and Morkel launched their attack.

Awana finished with 2-29 off four overs.

Punjab made a laboured start to their run chase as they ambled to 36 for two after six overs with Luke Pomersbach (7) being bowled by seamer Mohit Sharma while the same bowler had Mandeep Singh (15) caught at extra cover.

David Hussey (22) and Shaun Marsh tried to up the ante with a third-wicket stand of 37 but David Hussey departed when he hoisted a delivery from off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin to Bravo at long-on.

Marsh and Miller then looked to have given Punjab a way back into the game before Bravo’s last over heroics.

CHENNAI SUPER KINGS: WP Saha, MEK Hussey, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (capt & wk), S Badrinath, RA Jadeja, DJ Bravo, JA Morkel, CH Morris, R Ashwin, MM Sharma

KINGS XI PUNJAB: SE Marsh, Mandeep Singh, DJ Hussey (capt), DA Miller, LA Pomersbach, Gurkeerat Singh (wk), R Sathish, PP Chawla, MS Gony, P Kumar, P Awana


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming