Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Sunfoil Series

Kyle Abbott © Gallo Images

Abbott five slays champions

Kyle Abbott’s sixth career five-wicket haul set the Sunfoil Dolphins on their way to a crushing innings and 247-run victory over the Nashua Titans in their Sunfoil Series clash at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead in Durban on Saturday.

Full scorecard – Dolphins v Titans

The fast bowler bagged 5-40 as the defending champions were bowled out in their second innings for 134 on the stroke of tea after being earlier asked to follow on from their first innings showing of 167.

There was also 3-40 from teenager Calvin Savage, but in truth the men from Pretoria put up little resistance as several of their key men played poor shots to throw their wickets away.

Roelof van der Merwe was a rare positive as he blasted a free-flowing 54 off 44 deliveries, but his side struggled and their mediocre display meant they stayed bottom of the competition table.

The hosts, who amassed 548 for six declared in their first innings, had begun the day in fine fashion allowing just 11 further runs to be added for the final three wickets that fell in less than 50 minutes.

Craig Alexander struck with the second delivery of the morning when he had Mangaliso Mosehle caught at gully by Jonathan Vandiar without adding to his overnight 39.

Four overs later the Dolphins fast bowler struck again, this time drawing a fine edge from Ethy Mbhalati to wicketkeeper Daryn Smit for four, before Savage wrapped up the tail when he had Rowan Richards (two) out leg before wicket.

Alexander ended as the pick of the bowlers with4-51, while Savage’s solo wicket saw him end the first innings with 3-30 – the Dolphins holding a lead of 381.

The visitors then had a wretched start to the response as Abbott then struck twice in the third over.

Pieter Malan, who managed to avoid a pair, was first to go when he edged a full delivery to Smit, followed by Heino Kuhn (nought) being trapped lbw two balls later.

Mthokozisi Shezi (1-17) made it three wickets in four balls when he had Tumelo Bodibe play at an away swinger that was edged to Khayelihle Zondo at third slip for a duck as the Titans were tottering at three for three.

Farhaan Behardien and captain Henry Davids managed to add 22 for the fourth wicket, but the flow of wickets continued when Savage was introduced.

First the 19-year-old had Behardien caught by Abbott at fine leg for 10 and he followed that up by dismissing the skipper for 14 – another bouncer doing the trick as Davids’s attempted hook took an edge with Smit taking a splendid catch to complete the dismissal.

It was 33 for five at that stage with Mosehle (two), who was put down by Vaughn van Jaarsveld at second slip before the break, and David Wiese (eight) holding on until lunch.

There was some brief resistance afterwards with the Titans going to 50 in the 21st over.

But Mosehle was out for the second time in three-and-a-half hours when he swatted Alexander (1-24) straight to Savage at mid-off for 12.

Van der Merwe then began his assault and the feisty allrounder was especially harsh on Savage, who he plundered for six fours in nine deliveries.

The 100 came up in the 29th over with the two batsmen adding 50 in just 43 deliveries.

Van der Merwe reached his seventh first-class half-century in 33 balls, only to then lose partner Wiese caught behind by Smit off Abbott for 24, before having his own timber disturbed by the same bowler with the score on 126 for eight.

Eight runs later Abbott yorked Mbhalati (four) on the stroke of tea, which was delayed as the Dolphins asked for the additional half hour to try and end the game.

And it was all over moments later when De Villiers (eight) top-edged Savage to Imraan Khan at cover as the Titans were dismissed in 41.4 overs.

Report Day 1
Report Day 2


SUNFOIL DOLPHINS: Imraan Khan, Divan van Wyk, Jonathan Vandiar, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Cody Chetty, Khaya Zondo, Daryn Smit (capt & wkt), Kyle Abbott, Mthokozisi Shezi, Craig Alexander, Calvin Savage.

NASHUA TITANS: Henry Davids (capt), Tumelo Bodibe, Pieter Malan, Heino Kuhn, Farhaan Behardien, Mangaliso Mosehle (wkt), David Wiese, Roelof van der Merwe, CJ de Villiers, Ethy Mbhalati, Rowan Richards.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming