Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Aquatics | SA Swimming

Chad le Clos © Gallo Images

SA swimmers end CWG trials with a bang

The Commonwealth Games Trials in Durban successfully concluded on Thursday with 29 athletes swimming a total of 47 qualification times during the six-day competition.

The 2018 Commonwealth Games will take place in the Gold Coast, Australia, from April 4-15, and the final team to represent South Africa will be selected and announced by Sascoc in accordance with the Sascoc Selection Policy.

Jarryd Baxter and Ayrton Sweeney celebrated their third Commonwealth Games qualification times, while Neil Fair added his name to the long list in the 200m individual medley.

Baxter topped the medal podium in 2:00.99 ahead of Sweeney in 2:01.64 and Fair in 2:04.28. The Commonwealth requirement stood at 2:04.43.

Dune Coetzee and Kristin Bellingan’s outstanding performance in the 400m freestyle earned them Commonwealth Games qualification times in 4:14.53 and 4:17.74, respectively, while the bronze medal went to Abi Meder in 4:22.62.

In the 200m individual medley age group races, Luca Holtzhausen was once again on top of the world, winning the event in a new KZN Record time of 2:10.71, shedding 1.79secs off his own record from earlier in the year and bringing his tally up to 12 gold medals in six days of competition.

Connor Reinders (11) and Matthew Sates (14) claimed victories in their respective age group individual medley events in 2:44.55 and 2:12.64.


Calvyn Justus – 100m backstroke (55.57)

Calvyn Justus – 100m freestyle (50.35)

Ayrton Sweeney – 200m breaststroke (2:11.64)

Ayrton Sweeney – 400m individual medley (4:16.53)

Ayrton Sweeney – 200m individual medley (2:01.64)

Erin Gallagher – 100m butterfly (58.93)

Erin Gallagher – 50m freestyle (25.35)

Erin Gallagher – 100m freestyle (54.93)

Brent Szurdoki – 400m freestyle (3:53.24)

Brent Szurdoki – 1500m freestyle (15.30.83)

Cameron van der Burgh – 100m breaststroke (59.89)

Michael Houlie – 100m breaststroke (1:01.98)]

Mariella Venter – 100m backstroke (1:02.55)

Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle (1:48.28)

Chad le Clos – 200m butterfly (1:58.01)

Chad le Clos – 100m freestyle (49.74)

Chad le Clos – 100m butterfly (52.43)

Jarryd Baxter – 200m freestyle (1:50.79)

Jarryd Baxter – 200m backstroke (1:59.65)

Jarryd Baxter – 200m individual medley (2:00.99)

Emma Chelius – 50m freestyle (25.66)

Emma Chelius – 100m freestyle (56.53)

Olivia Nel – 50m freestyle (26.06)

Dune Coetzee – 200m freestyle (2:02.68)

Dune Coetzee – 200m butterfly (2:12.52)

Dune Coetzee – 400m freestyle (4:14.53)

Luan Grobbelaar – 400m individual medley (4:22.58)

Tatjana Schoenmaker – 200m breaststroke (2:26.46)

Tatjana Schoenmaker – 100m breaststroke (1:07.89

Kaylene Corbett – 200m breaststroke (2:29.18)

Kaylene Corbett – 100m breaststroke (1:09.57)

Emily Visagie – 200m breaststroke (2:29.46)

Eben Vorster – 200m butterfly (1:59.88)

Marlies Ross – 200m individual medley (2:17.33)

Leith Shankland – 100m freestyle (50.51)

Nathania van Niekerk – 200m backstroke (2:14.75)

Ryan Coetzee – 100m butterfly (52.92)

Ryan Coetzee – 50m freestyle (22.33)

Daniel Ronaldson – 100m butterfly (53.71)

Kate Beavon – 800m freestyle (8:49.16)

Kristin Bellingan – 800m freestyle (8:49.51)

Kristin Bellingan – 400m freestyle (4:17.74)

Martin Binedell – 200m backstroke (1:59.59)

Douglas Erasmus – 50m freestyle (22.90)

Brad Tandy – 50m freestyle (22.33)

Armand Maritz – 50m freestyle (23.25)

Neil Fair – 200m individual medley (2:04.28)


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming