Loading...
Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Rugby | Springboks

Poite was wrong – IRB



The International Rugby Board has confirmed that French referee Romain Poite was wrong in his decision to give Bismarck du Plessis his first yellow card during the Boks’ clash against the All Blacks in Saturday’s Castle Lager Rugby Championship match in Auckland.

Du Plessis received two yellow cards and was sent from the field in the 42nd minute, making the Boks play with 14 men for almost 50 minutes in the game, which many feel allowed New Zealand to win 29-15.

But while the whole of South Africa has been up in arms about Poite’s decision and the fact that it robbed the game of a contest, the IRB have given no indication of any action against Poite.

The world governing body issued a statement in which they admitted that it was incorrect for Poite to issue the first yellow card to Du Plessis.

“Just as players and coaches make mistakes, the decision was an unfortunate case of human error by the match officials, who, having reviewed the match, fully recognise and accept that they made a mistake in the application of law," the statement said.

“All match official performances are thoroughly reviewed and assessed by the IRB and are considered when appointments are made for future test matches.”

This video is not available in your region

The South African Rugby Union has laid a complaint with both Sanzar and the IRB about Poite’s performance, which ensured that the big clash that so many across the world had hoped for, was never a contest.

Poite was muzzled by the IRB after the game, as he needs to testify in the disciplinary hearing for Du Plessis. Requests to talk to the referee were denied after the game as well.

Du Plessis will have to face a disciplinary hearing on Wednesday – an automatic result of his receiving a red card – and will hope that, given the IRB's statement, there will be no further sanction imposed on him.

Sanzar confirmed the hearing in a release they sent out on Sunday. The hearing, to be heard by judicial officer Terry Willis, will be held by video conference on Tuesday

However despite differing viewpoints on the second yellow card, where Du Plessis’ elbow struck Liam Messam in the throat area, the hearing may look at the footage again, although despite New Zealand coach Steve Hansen’s assertion that it could have been red, it would be a travesty if it was seen that way.

By removing Du Plessis from the game, the Boks also had to take off their big ball-carrier Willem Alberts to replace him with a hooker.



Comments

More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Latest Video Highlights

Sports Talk



Brendan Venter
Game over without players
At all levels of the game, the players are supposed to be the chief protagonists. I fear that that...

Tony Johnson
Losing not an option for some
Four matches this weekend have the potential to whittle the chase for the playoffs down.

Gavin Rich
A case for change to Bok front row
The final league fixture of the Vodacom Super Rugby season could disappoint.

Brenden Nel
Where is the Blitz in these Boks?
The spectacular implosion by the Blitzboks to hand their World Series lead – and then the title –...

Kyle Brown
Bloodied but unbowed
It will take a bit of time for the pain to settle and for us to realise that the sun will rise...

Super Wrap
SuperWrap: Week 15, 2015
Like night and day. That is how much the rugby world’s two most rugby-mad countries differ.