Rossouw bewildered by crucial penalty
Springbok lock Danie Rossouw was a bewildered and confused figure on Sunday night after his team bowed out 11-9 to Australia in the quarterfinals of the Rugby World Cup.
Rossouw was penalised by referee Bryce Lawrence on the advice of a touch judge, who said he had played Wallaby No 8 Radike Samo in the air, a charge that Rossouw vehemently denies.
But the result left the Bok dream in tatters as they gave up their World Cup crown despite being the better team in every facet except the scoreboard.
“It’s a difficult one, I don’t know. He said I sacked him, I thought you were allowed to sack a player but he gave a penalty. I did not play the jumper in the air,” a distraught Rossouw said.
“For me personally it is devastating.”
Rossouw said the biggest hardship was that this team, which had achieved so much together, would now be going their separate ways.
“There are a lot of guys I made friends with, guys I wasn’t friends with that I’m now friends with. We’ve become a brotherhood. That’s the saddest thing for me, we became big mates, and now it is all over.
“I’m leaving for Japan. I still have test ambitions. I will see if I can get myself in good shape over there.”
Asked about man-of-the-match David Pocock’s performance, Rossouw was mum.
“I really don’t want to comment on that,” he said.
The Boks will be back in South Africa on Monday afternoon at around 5pm.