Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Formula 1

Pedro de la Rosa © Gallo Images

Ferrari sign De la Rosa as test driver

Ferrari have signed Pedro de la Rosa as test driver for the 2013 Formula One season for which they will launch the new car on February 1.

Ferrari said that team principal Stefano Domenicali made the announcements on Wednesday at the team's annual press ski meeting in the Italian resort of Madonna di Campiglio.

De La Rosa, 41, was without a job for 2013 after his previous team HRT withdrew from the sport for financial reasons. The Spaniard has competed in 106 Grand Prix races for various teams, with his best result a second-place finish in Hungary 2006.

"We decided to add De La Rosa to our group of drivers mainly to strengthen one area, namely work in the simulator, which with the current regulations regarding testing, is becoming ever more important," Domenicali said.

Domenicali also said that Ferrari will unveil the 2013 car for their drivers Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa on February 1, with the first pre-season tests to start on February 5 in Jerez, Spain.

Ferrari last won the world title in 2007 from Kimi Raikkonen. Alonso came second behind Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel in 2010 and 2012.

The three-times reigning champion Vettel will have his car unveiled on February 3, while the other top team McLaren will launch their 2013 model on January 31.


Lewis Hamilton: My story
Lewis Hamilton’s explosive arrival on the Formula 1 scene has made front-page headlines


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Fit as an F1 driver
Nico Rosberg turns around with a grin during a slight uphill section, shouting "Hey, what's the...

Reuters on Motorsport
Team prospects for the 2013 F1 season
Team-by-team prospects for the Formula One season starting in Melbourne, Australia, on March.