Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Dakar Rally

Stephane Peterhansel and co-pilot Jean-Paul Cottret celebrate © Gallo Images

Peterhansel clinches record Dakar triumph

Stephane Peterhansel claimed a record fifth Dakar Rally drivers title on Saturday, and 11th overall of his career, while French compatriot Cyril Despres captured a fifth motorcycling crown.

Peterhansel, the champion on four wheels in 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2012, as well as being a motorcycle winner on six other occasions, beat Ari Vatanen's 25-year-old record of four auto titles on the gruelling endurance event.

"It's a special moment – 15 days of racing full of emotions and tension and, now, the pressure vanishes all of a sudden," said Peterhansel, who was the favourite once former winners Carlos Sainz and Nasser al-Attiyah were forced to retire.

"This is the first time since I started racing in cars that we've finished a race without a single mechanical problem. This is the best car I've ever driven.

"It wasn't an easy victory, because we knew the buggies (of Sainz and al-Attiyah) would be fast. But this situation enabled me to focus from the start of the race. I attacked to open up a gap between me and my rivals."

Spain's Nani Roma claimed the event's last stage, and his fourth in 2013, as the 8 000km race ended with a 150km timed run into Santiago.

Peterhansel, taking part in his 25th Dakar, eased through the final stage to take overall victory by 42min 22sec over South Africa's Giniel de Villiers in a Toyota.

Russian Leonid Novitskiy was third, 1hr 28min 22sec behind his Mini teammate Peterhansel.

This video is not available in your region

Despres, riding a KTM, added the 2013 title to his wins in 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2012.

Portugal's Ruben Faria claimed second place, 10min 43sec off his teammate's pace, with Chilean rider Francisco Lopez, on another KTM, in third, 18min 48sec behind the leader.

"It's true that I needed to cross the line and see all these pictures and people here to know that no-one can take this win from me," said Despres, who was 17th on the concluding stage.

"The day when winning the Dakar becomes easy, it won't be interesting any more. And this day is still far off.

"It's too long, it's too tough, it's too hot, it's too cold, you've got to rise early in the morning, you've got to find your way out of the dune mazes in Peru and Chile, you've got to tackle the stones and cactuses on the courses near Cordoba.

"It's just too tricky for it to be easy to win. And it's even better when you win a difficult race."


Cars - Stage

1. Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) 1hr 44min 10sec
2. Orlando Terranova (ARG/BMW) at 13
3. Lucio Alvarez (ARG/Toyota) 31
4. Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) 1:27
5. Guerlain Chicherit (FRA/SMG) 2:05
6. Robby Gordon (USA/Hummer) 2:17
7. Leonid Novitskiy (RUS/Mini) 2:34
8. Carlos Sousa (POR/Great Wall) 3:19
9. Geoff Olholm (AUS/Toyota) 3:22
10. Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) 3:43.

Cars - Final standings

1. Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) 38hr 32min 39sec
2. Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) at 42:22
3. Leonid Novitskiy (RUS/Mini) 1 h 28:22
4. Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) 1 h 36:43
5. Orlando Terranova (ARG/BMW) 1 h 49:10
6. Carlos Sousa (POR/Great Wall) 2 h 38:16
7. Ronan Chabot (FRA/SMG) 3 h 18:05
8. Guerlain Chicherit (FRA/SMG) 3 h 27:44
9. Pascal Thomasse (FRA/Buggy Md Rallye) 4 h 35:32
10. Lucio Alvarez (ARG/Toyota) 4 h 45:48.

Bikes - Stage

1. Ruben Faria (POR/KTM) 1hr 43min 06sec
2. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Husqvarna) at 8
3. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 24
4. Mario Patrao (POR/Suzuki) 1:21
5. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 2:14
6. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Husqvarna) 2:32
7. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI/Honda) 2:37
8. Frans Verhoeven (NED/Yamaha) 2:39
9. Ivan Jakes (SVK/KTM) 3:07
10. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/Honda) 3:11.
22. Riaan van Niekerk (RSA/KTM) 8:36
28. Brett Cummings (RSA) 10:54
60. Darryl Curtis (RSA) 18:24

Bikes - Final standings

1. Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) 43 hr 24min 22sec
2. Ruben Faria (POR/KTM) at 10:43
3. Francisco Chaleco Lopez Contardo (CHI/KTM) 18:48
4. Ivan Jakes (SVK/KTM) 23:54
5. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/KTM) 55:29
6. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 1 h 06:30
7. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 1 h 11:22
8. Javier Pizzolito (ARG/Honda) 1 h 26:07
9. Frans Verhoeven (NED/Yamaha) 1 h 26:35
10. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Husqvarna) 1 h 28:20.
13. Riaan van Niekerk (RSA) 2 h 02:54
32. Darryl Curtis (RSA) 6 h 05:38
43. Brett Cummings (RSA) 8 h 32:20


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Fit as an F1 driver
Nico Rosberg turns around with a grin during a slight uphill section, shouting "Hey, what's the...

Reuters on Motorsport
Team prospects for the 2013 F1 season
Team-by-team prospects for the Formula One season starting in Melbourne, Australia, on March.