Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Dakar Rally

Orlando Terranova © Reuters

Terranova breaks new ground for Argentina

Orlando Terranova delighted the home crowd on Tuesday by becoming the first Argentinian driver to win a stage of the Dakar Rally.

The 33-year-old BMW driver - competing in his seventh Dakar Rally - came home 2min 07sec ahead of Monday's stage winner Nani Roma in a Mini and the latter's teammate and defending champion Stephane Peterhansel was third another 12sec adrift.

Terranova was delighted with his victory and said that it had been a really smooth drive.

"We took the stage very easily, to not make a mistake because it was very narrow and it was possible to burst a tyre or break some piece of the car," he said.

"We want to continue like we have done. We are having a good race without mistakes."

Peterhansel, seeking his 11th win after six in the motorbike section and four in the cars category, extended his overall lead to 52min 38sec over South African Giniel de Villiers.

The 47-year-old Frenchman's chances of winning the title again grew immeasurably when closest rival, Qatar's 2011 champion Nasser al-Attiyah had to pull out of the race after suffering mechanical problems on Monday's stage.

This video is not available in your region

Peterhansel admitted that he had vchanged his strategy now that Al-Attiyah had been forced out and conceded that it did not make for a great spectacle.

"For the race, for the show, it's no good, for the suspense, it's not really good, but for me it's not so bad and it's more comfortable," he said.

"I can manage the car as well.

"I can manage for example the stage tomorrow and the stage at Copiapo which will be really complicated in the dunes. So if I have more time I'll be able to manage the race, to wait to see the good places to cross the dunes, so it's better for me for sure."

Earlier defending champion Cyril Despres took the overall lead in this year's Dakar Rally on Tuesday after the 10th stage, a 636km ride including a 357km timed section from Cordoba to La Rioja.

The 38-year-old KTM rider had made his charge on Monday when, having been over 24 minutes off the pace, he stormed to his first stage victory of this year's edition and on Tuesday he showed he was the man in form in finishing second in the stage.

Spaniard Joan Barreda Bort took the stage honours on his Husqvarna bike, finishing 1min 15sec ahead of Despres.

Despres, seeking his fifth Dakar title, leads overnight leader and teammate Ruben Faria by 1min 37sec in the overall standings in the race which finishes on Sunday.

Despres said he was in good form and that his tactics of not racing all out throughout the Rally was paying off as it entered its decisive stages.

"Picking up seconds in the general standings is not the most important thing," he said.

"What matters is making statements, making a difference, gaining in confidence and letting the racing do the talking. As a result, the general standings reflect that on paper in the evening."

Cars - Stage

1. Orlando Terranova (ARG/BMW) 3hr 57min 58sec
2. Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) at 2min 07sec
3. Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) 2:19
4. Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) 5:26
5. Robby Gordon (USA/Hummer) 6:51
6. Lucio Alvarez (ARG/Toyota) 8:43
7. Boris Gadasin (RUS/G-Force Proto) 13:37
8. Vladimir Vasilyev (RUS/G-Force) 13:57
9. Matthias Kahle (GER/Sam-Mercedes) 14:19
10. Leonid Novitskiy (RUS/Mini) 4:56.

Cars - Overall

1. Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) 28hr 12min
2. Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) at 52min 38sec
3. Leonid Novitskiy (RUS/Mini) 1hr 08:40
4. Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) 1hr 34:04
5. Orlando Terranova (ARG/BMW) 1hr 58:49
6. Carlos Sousa (POR/Great Wall) 2hr 35:00
7. Guerlain Chicherit (FRA/SMG) 2hr 51:23
8. Bernard Errandonea (AND/SMG) 3hr 02:38
9. Ronan Chabot (FRA/SMG) 3hr 02:52
10. Pascal Thomasse (FRA/Buggy Md Rallye) 3hr 26:51.

Bikes - Stage

1. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Husqvarna) 4hr 43min 14sec
2. Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) at 1min 15sec
3. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Husqvarna) 2:44
4. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/KTM) 4:27
5. Kurt Caselli (USA/KTM) 6:56
6. Ivan Jakes (SVK/KTM) 8:03
7. Alessandro Botturi (ITA/Husqvarna) 8:05
8. Ruben Faria (POR/KTM) 8:15
9. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 9:34
10. Frans Verhoeven (NED/Yamaha) 10:24
20. Van Niekerk (RSA/KTM) 05:03:26
24. Curtis (RSA/KTM) 05:08:11
29. Cummings (RSA/Honda) 05:13:33

Bikes - Overall

1. Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) 30hr 47min 04sec
2. Ruben Faria (POR/KTM) at 1min 37sec
3. Francisco Chaleco Lopez Contardo (CHI/KTM) 13:41
4. Ivan Jakes (SVK/KTM) 18:21
5. Alessandro Botturi (ITA/Husqvarna) 24:25
6. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 34:19
7. Stefan Svitko (SVK/KTM) 39:22
8. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/KTM) 40:18
9. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 47:02
10. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI/Honda) 47:06


Lewis Hamilton: My story
Lewis Hamilton’s explosive arrival on the Formula 1 scene has made front-page headlines
Psychology of motorsport success
Motorsport is a highly addictive and extremely exciting activity


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Fit as an F1 driver
Nico Rosberg turns around with a grin during a slight uphill section, shouting "Hey, what's the...

Reuters on Motorsport
Team prospects for the 2013 F1 season
Team-by-team prospects for the Formula One season starting in Melbourne, Australia, on March.