Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Motorsport | Dakar Rally

Stephane Peterhansel © Gallo Images

Peterhansel extends lead to 10 minutes

Stephane Peterhansel boosted his lead in the Dakar Rally to 10 minutes after a fifth stage won by teammate Nani Roma on Wednesday.

Peterhansel's Mini finished second to Roma's on the relatively short 172-kilometre stage on the Peru side of the border with Chile. After enduring sand dunes since the race started on Saturday, drivers sprinted through rocky sections, riverbeds and canyons.

The motorbikes navigated a different 136-kilometre route from Arequipa toward the Pacific coast, and Olivier Pain became the first rider to hold on to the overall lead. Only six minutes separate the leading trio, all of them Frenchmen.

The favored Minis of the X-raid team dominated the cars' stage, with three in the top five.

Roma beat Peterhansel home by 1 minute, 23 seconds, and Leonid Novitskiy was fifth. Robby Gordon, whose Hummer was on its roof on Tuesday, finished third and the consistent Giniel de Villiers raced his Toyota to fourth.

Nasser Al-Attiyah, who won the previous two stages, was six minutes behind in seventh in his buggy after a slight navigation error but remained second overall to Peterhansel. De Villiers was third overall but 33:50 off the lead, and only four minutes ahead of Novitskiy and Roma.

"It was tough and essential to find the right course," Peterhansel said. "Mind you, I had a good hare to follow with Nasser up ahead who was making good tracks."

This video is not available in your region

On the bikes' stage, Pain and David Casteu opened the trail on their Yamahas and expertly held their lead. Casteu edged out Pain by a minute for his third career stage victory, followed two minutes later by Juan Pedrero of Spain.

"Winning at the start of the rally when all the riders are still in it, it's really great," Casteu said. "At the end of the Dakar, it can be argued that other riders relax and manage their position. When you win like that with all these riders who've got the bit between their teeth, it's good."

The order was swapped in the overall, with Pain leading Casteu and defending champion Cyril Despres, who was fifth on the stage, third just over six minutes back.

"I wanted to avoid making a mistake so that people wouldn't say, 'He got caught out because he got too big for his boots,'" Pain said. "It was a nice stage to ride and I'm still leader. That makes it two days running now."

Any chance of winning the title virtually ended for Joan Barreda Bort, who won two previous stages. He was held up by a fuel pump problem 100 kilometres in and dropped three hours off the lead.

The long sixth stage on Thursday will be the first in Chile, with riders heading into the Atacama Desert.


Stage 5

1. Roma (ESP) Mini 01:49:40
2. Peterhansel (FRA) Mini 01:51:03
3. Gordon (USA) Hummer 01:51:21
4. De Villiers (RSA) Toyota 01:51:31
5. Sainz (ESP) Buggy 01:53:21
6. Novistkiy (RUS) Mini 01:54:50
7. Al-Attiyah (QAT) Buggy 01:55:41
8. Spinelli (BRA) Mitsubishi 01:56:21
9. Terranova (ARG) Bmw 01:56:55
10. Sousa (PRT) Great Wall 01:57:34


1. Peterhansel (FRA) Mini 10:55:32
2. Al-Attiyah (QAT) Buggy 11:05:26
3. De Villiers (RSA) Toyota 11:29:22
4. Novistkiy (RUS) Mini 11:33:07
5. Roma (ESP) Mini 11:33:15
6. Chicherit (FRA) Smg 11:52:06
7. Chabot (FRA) Smg 12:06:07
8. Errandonea (AND) Smg 12:13:49
9. Gadasin (RUS) G-Force Proto 12:27:18
10. Thomasse (FRA) Buggy Md Rallye 12:28:18


Stage 5

1. David Casteu (FRA/Yamaha) 1hr 39min 42sec
2. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 1:09
3. Alessandro Botturi (ITA/Husqvarna) 3:25
4. Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) 4:07
5. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 4:52
6. Alain Duclos (FRA/Sherco) 5:01
7. Jakub Przygonski (POL/KTM) 5:49
8. Ruben Faria (POR/KTM) 6:04
9. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/Honda) 7:15
10. Jordi Viladoms (ESP/Husqvarna) 7:23.
19. Van Niekerk (RSA/Ktm) 8:29
24. Curtis (RSA/Ktm) 11:29
100. Cummings (RSA/Honda) 1:18:54


1. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 11hr 51min 29sec
2. David Casteu (FRA/Yamaha) 1:15
3. Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) 6:07
4. Ruben Faria (POR/KTM) 13:34
5. Jordi Viladoms (ESP/Husqvarna) 13:36
6. Alessandro Botturi (ITA/Husqvarna) 14:00
7. Jakub Przygonski (POL/KTM) 19:00
8. Javier Pizzolito (ARG/Honda) 25:45
9. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 25:58
10. Alain Duclos (FRA/Sherco) 27:49.
15. Curtis (RSA/Ktm) 29:15
17. Van Niekerk (RSA/Ktm) 31:21
90. Cummings (RSA/Honda) 4:43:27


Lewis Hamilton: My story
Lewis Hamilton’s explosive arrival on the Formula 1 scene has made front-page headlines


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Fit as an F1 driver
Nico Rosberg turns around with a grin during a slight uphill section, shouting "Hey, what's the...

Reuters on Motorsport
Team prospects for the 2013 F1 season
Team-by-team prospects for the Formula One season starting in Melbourne, Australia, on March.