Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Joanna Rowsell © Gallo Images

Rowsell topples Hammer for pursuit gold

Great Britain's Joanna Rowsell won her first individual world title Friday, beating defending champion Sarah Hammer in the women's individual pursuit at the track cycling World Championships.

A day after she won team pursuit gold at the Cali velodrome, the 25-year-old Rowsell clocked a personal best of 3min 30.318sec for the win, in which she led from start to finish.

Hammer, who set the world record in the 3 000m event of 3:22.269 at altitude in Aguascalientes, Mexico, in 2010, had posted the top qualifying time – almost a second faster than Roswell's.

However, she settled for silver with a time of 3:31.535, unable to earn a record-equalling sixth career world title in the event.

That would have tied her with compatriot Rebecca Twigg – who won six individual pursuit world golds from 1982-1995 – and Russian Tamara Garkuchina – who won six from 1967-1974.

Australia's Amy Cure earned the bronze medal, beating Ukrainian Ganna Solovei in the third-place race.

France's Francois Pervis retained his one kilometre time trial world title on Friday, clocking 59.385sec for his second gold in as many days.

Pervis, who won the men's keirin gold on Thursday, will try to make it a world title treble when the individual sprint begins on Saturday.

Germany's Joachim Eilers finished second in 59.984 and New Zealand's Simon van Velthooven earned bronze in 1:00.518.

Colombia's Edwin Avila gave the home crowd something to cheer with a victory in the men's 40 kilometre points race ahead of New Zealand's Thomas Scully and Spain's Eloy Teruel.

Reigning champion Rebecca James of Britain and Australia's 2012 Olympic champion Anna Meares were both eliminated in the quarterfinals of the women's sprint.

Jessica Varnish defeated James 2-0 in an all-British quarterfinal, while Meares fell to China's Zhong Tianshi.

Germany's Kristina Vogel and China's Lin Jinhong also reached the semifinals, the first time two Chinese women have reached the final four in the event at worlds.


One Kilometer time trial
1. François Pervis (FRA) 59.385sec (60.621 km/h average speed)
2. Joachim Eilers (GER) 59.984
3. Simon van Velthooven (NZL) 1:00.518

Points race (40km, 16 sprints)
1. Edwin Avila (COL) 70 points
2. Thomas Scully (NZL) 66
3. Eloy Teruel (ESP) 58


Individual Pursuit
Joanna Rowsell (GBR) 3:30.318 bt Sarah Hammer (USA) 3:31.535

3rd place race
Amy Cure (AUS) 3:36.174 bt Ganna Solovei (UKR) 3:37.003


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Cycling Guest
Eritrean cyclists pedal country onto world stage
When Eritrean cyclist Natnael Berhane crossed the finish line of the Tour of Turkey in May, he made...

Haze's Comment
Armstrong deserves nothing
I don't care about Lance Armstrong anymore and I will not watch the stage-managed Oprah show. He...