Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Vincenzo Nibali © Action Images

Nibali maintains Vuelta lead

French rider Alexandre Geniez of FDJ claimed victory in his homeland as the gruelling 224.9km 15th stage of the Tour of Spain from Andorra to Peyragudes crossed the border into France.

Geniez finished over three minutes ahead of Italian Michele Scarponi and Irishman Nicholas Roche in a time of 6hrs 20mins 12secs.

Giro d'Italia winner Vincenzo Nibali maintained his lead in the overall classification, though, as he finished fourth alongside American Chris Horner and Spain's Alejandro Valverde, who remain 50 secs and 1min 42secs behind respectively.

"It has been a long day," a delighted Geniez confessed afterwards.

"I went from the start in a group and we worked well together, everyone collaborated to obtain the maximum time gap in the breakaway.

"Two kilometres from the finish was when I saw that I had the victory in my legs and it was a special motivation for me to win here in France."

Following a tough day of climbing into Andorra on Saturday when 16 riders were forced to withdraw due to the brutal weather conditions, Sunday's stage – the longest of the three week race – was even more daunting with four category one climbs.

This video is not available in your region

Geniez didn't show any signs of fatigue, however, as he was part of a breakaway group of six riders that led a chasing pack of 19 by over two minutes, and the peloton by over seven minutes by the time they had completed the climbs over the Colle del Canto and Port de la Bonaigua.

The 25-year-old then attacked on his own with fully 25km still to go, but having maintained a significant advantage over the peloton he began the climb up the Col de Peyresourde to the finish line with still over five minutes of an advantage and was never threatened.

However, there was still plenty to fight for in the overall race standings on the climb to the finish as all the major contenders grouped together before a series of attacks and counter-attacks were launched.

Katusha's Joaquim Rodriguez and Movistar's Valverde were first to show their hand, but Nibali always ensured they could never get away and in the end there was no change in the top five of the general classification as those three, Horner and Italian Domenico Pozzovivo all registered the same time.

Despite maintaining his lead after another crucial stage Astana's Nibali isn't taking anything for granted with four more mountain stages still to come.

"I tried to go in the last climb up to Peyragudes but it was difficult, with so many continuous attacks it was a crazy stage with a lot of movement," said the 2010 Vuelta winner.

"We will see how things will go in Formigal tomorrow after two days with such great accumulated fatigue. There are still important climbs to come like in Pena Cabarga and Angliru."


1. Alexandre Geniez (France / FDJ.fr) 6:20:12"
2. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Lampre) +3:03"
3. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +3:07"
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) +3:20"
5. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar)
6. Chris Horner (U.S. / RadioShack)
7. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha)
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R)
9. Jose Herrada (Spain / Movistar) +3:23"
10. David Arroyo (Spain / Caja Rural)
11. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ.fr) +3:45"
12. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) +3:56"
13. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp)
14. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Team Sky)
15. Rafal Majka (Poland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +4:55"
16. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / RadioShack) +5:08"
17. Igor Anton (Spain / Euskaltel) +5:24"
18. Tanel Kangert (Estonia / Astana) +5:46"
19. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) +6:13"
20. Amets Txurruka (Spain / Caja Rural) +6:35"
109. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Team Argos-Shimano) +35:09"


1. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) 60:20:21"
2. Chris Horner (U.S. / RadioShack) +50"
3. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +1:42"
4. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha) +2:57"
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) +3:43"
6. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +3:49"
7. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ.fr) +4:59"
8. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp) +6:18"
9. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) +7:46"
10. Tanel Kangert (Estonia / Astana) +9:11"
11. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) +9:21"
12. David Arroyo (Spain / Caja Rural) +11:17"
13. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Lampre) +12:03"
14. Jose Herrada (Spain / Movistar) +13:31"
15. Igor Anton (Spain / Euskaltel) +14:49"
16. Eros Capecchi (Italy / Movistar) +15:56"
17. Dominik Nerz (Germany / BMC Racing) +17:34"
18. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / RadioShack) +18:03"
19. Andre Cardoso (Portugal / Caja Rural) +21:27"
20. Chris Sorensen (Denmark / Saxo - Tinkoff) +22:17"
108. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Team Argos-Shimano) +2:22:58"


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Will more cyclists make the sport safer in 2015?
Everybody is saying it: we need to get more people on bicycles on our roads. The environmental,...