Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Sagan wins second stage, takes lead

Slovakia's Peter Sagan won the second stage of the Tour of Oman on Tuesday and moved into the overall lead, following a 146km ride from Fanja in Bidbid to Al Bustan.

The 23-year-old Cannondale rider broke free from the pack in the final kilometre to finish 5secs in front of Frenchman Tony Gallopin and Swiss rider Martin Elmiger.

Sagan, a three-time stage winner on the Tour de France last year, holds an overall lead of 9secs on Gallopin with Elmiger a further two seconds back.

Last year's Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins is 1min 42sec behind Sagan, after losing an appeal against his last place finish in Monday's opening stage.

Wiggins, also the Olympic time-trial champion, was delayed by a pile-up in the last few kilometres of the 162km stage and came in 1min 30sec adrift of the leaders.

Team Sky were confident they would win an appeal on the basis that according to rules governing crashes, he should be awarded the same time as those riders he was riding with, when he was within the closing 3km of the finish.

However, organisers decided that because Wiggins was with several Sky teammates that eventually caught the leading group, he had the chance to catch up and should not be reclassified, meaning he will keep his original time.

Former Tour de France winners Alberto Contador of Spain and Australian Cadel Evans are both 11sec behind Sagan in the stage and overall standings.

The six-stage race continues on Wednesday with the third stage over 190km between Nakhal Fort and Wadi Dayqah Dam, which features a profile that will again suit the likes of attacking riders like Sagan.


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) 3hr 48min 36sec
2. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at 5sec
3. Martin Elmiger (SUI) s.t
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) s.t
5. Zdenek Stybar (CZE), 7
6. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t.
7. Marco Bandiera (ITA) s.t.
8. Marco Marcato (ITA) 11 s.t.
9. Daryl Impey (RSA) s.t.
10. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) s.t.


24. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) s.t.
26. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t.
29. Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t.
32. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) s.t.
41. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t.
46. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) s.t.
74. Tom Boonen (BEL) 1min 47sec


1. Peter Sagan (SVK) 7hr 53min 25sec
2. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at 9sec
3. Martin Elmiger (SUI) 11
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) 15
5. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) 17
6. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t.
7. Zdenek Stybar (CZE), s.t.
8. Stijn Vandenbergh (BEL) 21
9. Marco Bandiera (ITA) s.t .
10. Peter Velits (SVK) s.t.


18. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) s.t.
24. Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t.
26. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t.
36. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t.
41. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) s.t.
Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 1min 42sec
Tom Boonen (BEL) 1min 57sec



More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Cycling Guest
Eritrean cyclists pedal country onto world stage
When Eritrean cyclist Natnael Berhane crossed the finish line of the Tour of Turkey in May, he made...

Haze's Comment
Armstrong deserves nothing
I don't care about Lance Armstrong anymore and I will not watch the stage-managed Oprah show. He...