Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Diaz wins Tour of San Luis

Home racer Ricardo Diaz won the Tour of San Luis crown on Sunday after Italy's Mattia Gavazzi of the Androni team won the final stage.

Gavazzi won the 154.7km ride from San Luis to Juana Koslay in 3hr 25min 48sec, edging out Slovakia's Peter Sagan (Cannondale) and Spaniard Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) in a sprint finish.

The 23-year-old Diaz, racing for San Luis Somos Todos, landed the biggest title of his career to date, having set up his success with barnstorming showings in the fifth and sixth stages.

Diaz won in a total time of 24hr 3min 16sec after 1 008.8km of racing with US hope Tejay Van Garderen of BMC second, 33sec behind, and Brazilian Alex Diniz of Funvic third at 39sec, forcing two-time Tour de France winner Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank-Tinkoff) to settle for fourth, 62sec off the pace.


1. Mattia Gavazzi (ITA/Androni) 3hr 25min 48sec
2. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) s.t.
3. Francisco Ventoso (ESP/Movistar) s.t.
4. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/Lampre-Merida) s.t.
5. Bartlomiej Matysiak (POL/CCC Polsat Polkowice) s.t.
27. Tejay van Garderen (USA/BMC) s.t.
61. Alberto Contador (ESP/Saxo Bank-Tinkoff) s.t.
95. Mark Cavendish (GBR/OPQS) at 19sec


1. Daniel Ricardo Díaz (San Luis Somos Todos) 24hr 3min 16sec
2. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) at 33sec
3. Alex Diniz (Funvic) at 39sec
4. Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank-Tinkoff) at 1min 2sec
5. Juergen Van den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) at 1min 47sec
114. Mark Cavendish (OPQS) at 55min


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Will more cyclists make the sport safer in 2015?
Everybody is saying it: we need to get more people on bicycles on our roads. The environmental,...