Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Viviani sprints to opening win in Beijing

Italian Elia Viviani won the first stage of a windy Tour of Beijing on Tuesday after the Italian timed his sprint for the finishing line to perfection.

His triumph follows a victory in the fourth stage of the race last year, the first time that a World Tour calendar event was staged in China.

Viviani, who races for the Liquigas-Cannondale team, found space on the left of the bunch to dart through and claim victory in the final moments of the 117 kilometre race.

He finished in front of British cyclist Andy Fenn (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) and Norwegian Edvald Boasson-Hagen (Team Sky).

The race saw a five-man break set the pace after 14km -- leading by about two minutes at one stage -- until the gap was closed with less than two of the 12 laps remaining.

The five-day Tour of Beijing is the final event of the season, and will see 18 of the world's top cycling teams compete.

This video is not available in your region
The opening race saw 143 cyclists from 30 countries race from Tiananmen Square to the Olympic Park, home of Beijing's National Stadium, the main venue for the 2008 Olympics.

Viviani will wear the leader's jersey heading into stage two, a 126 kilometre race from the Olympic Park to Beijing's hilly western suburbs.

2010 Tour de France champion Andy Schleck of Luxembourg, along with defending Tour of Beijing champion and London Olympics silver medalist Tony Martin of Germany are also competing in Beijing.


1. Elia Viviani(Italy/ Liquigas) 2:37:49"
2. Andrew Fenn(Britain/ Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) ST
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen(Norway/ Team Sky)
4. Kenny van Hummel(Netherlands/ Vacansoleil)
5. Greg Henderson(New Zealand/ Lotto)
6. Theo Bos(Netherlands/ Rabobank)
7. Enrique Sanz(Spain/ Movistar)
8. Aidis Kruopis(Lithuania/ Orica)
9. Alessandro Petacchi(Italy/ Lampre)
10. Klaas Lodewyck(Belgium/ BMC Racing)
11. Barry Markus(Netherlands/ Vacansoleil)
12. Lloyd Mondory(France/ AG2R)
13. Alexey Tsatevich(Russia/ Katusha)
14. Tim Wellens(Belgium/ Lotto)
15. Heinrich Haussler(Australia/ Garmin)
16. Sebastian Haedo(Argentina/ Saxo Bank)
17. Rui Costa(Portugal/ Movistar)
18. Jean-Christophe Peraud(France/ AG2R)
19. Jesus Herrada(Spain/ Movistar)
20. Valentin Iglinskiy(Kazakhstan/ Astana)


1. Elia Viviani(Italy/ Liquigas) 2:37:39"
2. Andrew Fenn(Britain/ Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +4"
3. Matthieu Ladagnous(France/ FDJ)
4. Edvald Boasson Hagen(Norway/ Team Sky) +6"
5. Kenny van Hummel(Netherlands/ Vacansoleil) +10"
6. Greg Henderson(New Zealand/ Lotto)
7. Theo Bos(Netherlands/ Rabobank)
8. Enrique Sanz(Spain/ Movistar)
9. Aidis Kruopis(Lithuania/ Orica)
10. Alessandro Petacchi(Italy/ Lampre)
11. Klaas Lodewyck(Belgium/ BMC Racing)
12. Barry Markus(Netherlands/ Vacansoleil)
13. Lloyd Mondory(France/ AG2R)
14. Alexey Tsatevich(Russia/ Katusha)
15. Tim Wellens(Belgium/ Lotto)
16. Heinrich Haussler(Australia/ Garmin)
17. Sebastian Haedo(Argentina/ Saxo Bank)
18. Rui Costa(Portugal/ Movistar)
19. Jean-Christophe Peraud(France/ AG2R)
20. Jesus Herrada(Spain/ Movistar)


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Latest Video Highlights

Sports Talk

Guest Column
Will more cyclists make the sport safer in 2015?
Everybody is saying it: we need to get more people on bicycles on our roads. The environmental,...