Forgot Password




Create your Connect ID

This will allow you to login to all DStv websites & applications

Login using

Email Reset


Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | SA Team

AB in the running for three top awards

The 2012 South African Cricket Awards categories feature an exciting batch of nominees, with winners to be announced at the Gala Dinner on Wednesday, June 6, at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

The SA Cricketer of the Year is the most prestigious award of the evening and in contention are AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Hashim Amla.

Jacques Kallis was the winner of this award in 2011, with past winners including Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Shaun Pollock and Makhaya Ntini.

The Proteas' T20 and ODI captain AB de Villiers earned nominations in three categories, including the One-Day International Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and for the SA Cricketer of the Year which he has never won.

De Villiers currently averages close to 50 in both ODIs and tests and was the leading run-scorer for the Proteas with a highest score of 160 against Sri Lanka this season.

Morne Morkel was the Proteas' leading wicket-taker in T20 and ODI cricket, and has earned recognition by being nominated for the T20 Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and for the SA Cricketer of the Year.

His ODI career-best of 5-38 against New Zealand in Napier capped off a superb season for him.

Faf du Plessis of the Nashua Titans has been rewarded for his all-round performances on the domestic scene this season, receiving nominations for the One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year, T20 Cricketer of the Year and the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year.

The young Highveld Lions' batsman Temba Bavuma had an excellent first-class campaign, and has been nominated for the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year alongside Lions' teammate Alviro Petersen and Du Plessis.

The Proteas' explosive debutant Richard Levi has been nominated for the International T20 Cricketer of Year as well as the KFC "So Good" Award for his record-breaking 117 against New Zealand in Hamilton.

Shandre Fritz leads the nominations for the CSA Women's Cricketer of the Year award for her stellar performances for both the national team and her provincial side of Western Province.

This is her second consecutive nomination for the award and she goes up against Western Province teammate Shabnim Ismail, who was a star with the ball in the 2011/2012 season.

The third nominee is Trisha Chetty, who won the award in 2009. Chetty has produced exceptional performances both with bat and gloves for her province, KwaZulu-Natal, and for the national team.


CSA Women's Cricketer of the Year: Shandre Fritz, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail.


CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete, Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock.
CSA Scorer' Association of the Year: Gauteng, Boland, Northerns.
CSA Groundsman of the Year: Chris Scott, Louis Kruger, Nico Pretorius.


CSA One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year: Charl Langeveldt, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar.
T20 Cricketer of the Year: Chris Morris, Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis.
Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year: Temba Bavuma, Alviro Petersen, Faf du Plessis.


CSA International T20 Cricketer of the Year: Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Richard Levi.
One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.
Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander.
KFC "So Good" Award: Vernon Philander, Richard Levi, Marchant de Lange.
SA Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander, Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel, AB de Villiers.

Awards Judging Panel: Colin Bryden (Chairperson), Aslam Khota, Zolani Bongco, Graeme Pollock


The Proteas
20 Years, 20 Landmark Matches by Neil Manthorp
Jacques Kallis
South Africa has produced more great all-rounders than any other country
Through my eyes
Gunn & Moore Epic 808 DXM Cricket Bat
The Gunn and Moore Epic DXM 808 Harrow bat has been carefully developed so that you can get the most from your game


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Live Video Streaming

Pltv: Netbusters - Ep 2
Sat, 30 Aug @ 05:00
Sat, 30 Aug @ 09:30
Sat, 30 Aug @ 11:15

Sports Talk

Neil in Zimbabwe
Week 3
George Bailey really isn’t cut from conventional sporting cloth. He’s erudite, witty, personable...

Kepler Wessels
ODI cricket a batsman's game
Four magnificent one day hundreds on the same day is clear evidence that due to the change of rules...

Faf du Plessis
Fishing tales and 'answering' critics
I’ve just returned from an amazing few days at Chikwenya Lodge, which is near Mana Pools and on the...

Mpumelelo Mbangwa
Does it matter how the Proteas win?
The superiority of the Australians over Zimbabwe was clearly displayed in the first match of the...

Haze's Comment
Will Shastri stop the shop rot?
While I have chased our fine game with microphone in hand over the last 20 years I have heard some...

Neil in Sri Lanka
Week 4
It is patently absurd to suggest that this Test ‘save’, in Colombo, was better than Adelaide 2012...