Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | IPL

Hyderabad stay in touch with easy win

The Sunrisers Hyderabad stayed in touch with the IPL leaders with an easy seven-wicket victory over the Mumbai Indians on a sweltering Wednesday afternoon in Hyderabad.

Full Scorecard: Hyderabad v Mumbai

Tight bowling, particularly from Ishant Sharma, was followed by a commanding innings from Shikhar Dhawan to take their team over the line with a full two overs to spare.

Akshath Reddy was an early casualty as Hyderabad set off in search of a target of 130. With the pitch on the slow side, Reddy misread a slow ball from Mitchell Johnson.

Keen fielding from Mumbai was keeping them in the game, with Kieron Pollard outstanding. Harbhajan Singh conceded just a single in his opening over, but was unable to keep a lid on the batsmen in his later overs.

Pragyan Ojha gave nothing away, conceding just 18 and even Rohit Sharma had a tidy over when he took the ball, but the seamers were unable to maintain the pressure.

This video is not available in your region

Dhawan shared partnerships of 37 with Kumar Sangakarra before the Sri Lankan patted one back to Harbhajan, and a match-deciding 74 off 56 balls with Hanuma Vihari.

Vihari was dismissed with just two needed for victory. He was dropped by Pollard off the previous ball, and there might be more serious consequences for Mumbai as Pollard left the field immediately with an injured finger.

Dhawan scored the winning run to end unbeaten on 73 off 55 balls with nine fours and a six.

The Mumbai Indians could never get going in their innings after choosing to bat first. A patient 38 from Dwayne Smith at the top of the order was the top score, while Ambati Rayudu hit a quick-fire unbeaten 34 off 27 balls.

Ishant Sharma was the star performer with the ball, finishing with 2-15 and claiming the Man of the Match award. He was well supported by Karan Sharma, Dale Steyn and Amit Mishra, who all had economy rates of below seven to the over.

There is little change in the log, with Mumbai staying in fourth place and Hyderabad in fifth. There are now four teams locked on 12 points, with the Sunrisers the only one to have a negative net run rate.

SUNRISERS HYDERABAD: S Dhawan, PA Reddy, KC Sangakkara (capt & wk), GH Vihari, NLTC Perera, DJG Sammy, A Ashish Reddy, KV Sharma, A Mishra, DW Steyn, I Sharma

MUMBAI INDIANS: DR Smith, SR Tendulkar, KD Karthik (wk), RG Sharma (capt), KA Pollard, AT Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, MG Johnson, SL Malinga, DS Kulkarni, PP Ojha


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Sports Talk

Haze's Comment
This IPL is in a spin
As the eighth edition of the IPL entertainment machine chugs purposefully along, one select band of...

Mpumelelo Mbangwa
World Cup form influencing IPL selection
A week has gone by since the start of this eighth edition of the IPL and it seems like business as...

Kepler Wessels
Time to prepare for T20
The next ICC event is only a few months away. The world T20 is the next world event on the schedule.

Faf du Plessis
Bring on the IPL!
Greetings from Chennai, India where I am back playing in the Indian Premier League