Forgot Password




Create your Connect ID

This will allow you to login to all DStv websites & applications

Login using

Email Reset


Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Boxing | International

Legends in Hall of Fame

Mike Tyson, Oscar de la Hoya, Sugar Ray Leonard, Larry Holmes and Julio Cesar Chavez have been chosen for induction in the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame.

The legendary fighters are among the inaugural inductees named on Wednesday. Enshrinement ceremonies will be held in 2013.

Also elected were Diego Corrales and Mike McCallum, trainers Eddie Futch and Freddie Roach, promoters Don King and Bob Arum and referees Joe Cortez and Mills Lane.

Executives Marc Ratner and James Nave, reporters Al Bernstein and Royce Feour and contributors Kirk Kirkorian and Sig Rogich are also on the list of those to be honoured.

Tyson, the former undisputed heavyweight champion, retired with a record of 50-6, including 44 knockouts. He was the youngest man to hold the crown

Holmes, who finished with a record of 69-6 and 44 knockouts, held the heavyweight title from 1978 to 1985.

Leonard, 36-3 with one drawn and 25 knockouts, was a 1976 Montreal Olympic Games champion and a 1980s star. He beat Roberto Duran, Marvin Hagler and Tommy Hearns.

"Golden Boy" De la Hoya, 39-6 with 30 knockouts, won ten world titles in six weight divisions and has become a top promoter.

Chavez – 107-6, with two drawn and 88 knockouts – was a Mexican legend and three-division world champion.


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Sports Talk

Ron Jackson
Fighting Jack of all trades
It seems far-fetched, but they say Jack Ellmore made his professional debut when he was twelve...

Ron Jackson II
Shocking Sunday at Brakpan
One of the greatest upsets in the history of heavyweight boxing occurred at Brakpan, east of...